Forums

The Ponziani Opening

Sort:
YallPlayCheckers

I've never used that opening before, so I dunno.

AndyClifton
NimzoRoy wrote:

Getting back to the original point here...

"Ooooo, I hates when that happens!..."

The_Gavinator

This question may have a fairly obvious answer, but why is the Ponziani considered decent for beginners? I looked on youtube for a tutorial on this opening, and the main video I could find was "a good opening for beating sub-2000 players", reinforcing that point. Is it because masters would be more familiar with this opening, as ameteurs are not, or maybe they are better at exploiting the weaknesses such as the knight's lack of development on c3, or the uncastled king?

TonyH

The ponziani opening is "ok" and playable for any level but lacks the serious punch once a player understands what to do against it. Doesnt mean you cannt win but you will invest a lot of time trying to squeeze out an opening from a system that wont help you develop as a player. I had a slight epiphany reading my great predessors I when Kasparov said that players chess should develop along historical lines. this to me means play older systems first then learn the more modern ones. Kings gambits, guccio piano, evans gambits all the e4 e5 Nf3 with a fast c3 and d4 system. do this before moving on to the more complex ruy lopez and modern systems. You will be surprised how many puzzle pieces start fitting together once you do this. That said the ponziani opening sorta fits into this but runs into the quick ...d5 break in the center leaving white trying to sort out how to develop pieces and giving black a more free hand than other systems like the evans or guccio piano

Gil-Gandel
uhohspaghettio wrote:
Gil-Gandel wrote:

That's the dictionary definition - since chess.com starts you out with an assumed rating of 1200 by default, anyone who is an 1100 is even worse than that and has lost enough games to prove it.