9480 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Is this position possible?
I think yes, but it's a close one, because you need material to move to other line so pawns come from a,b,c,d,e,f.
Now, whoose turn is here, because if that's white to move that is impossible, because where from that king come?
If it's black's turn I think it's possible, because last white's move was Bxa7, black king could have gone from b8.
Yes, although some of the black pawns on the kingside have to promote so they can get to the queenside and be captured by the white pawns.
It´s impossible for the following reason:
White´s pawns need 15 diagonal takes to reach the position. That means that all of Black´s pieces and pawns would have to be taken by White´s a-f pawns.
For this to be possible, Black´s f-g pawns must be made to take diagonally towards the centre until they can be taken at least by the e and f pawns. For this, White must sacrifice his pieces; he cannot use the a-f pawns, and the g and h pawns would force taking in the wrong direction (remember that every single black piece must be taken by a pawn moving diagonally leftwards, otherwise White has less than the necessary 15 pawn moves needed to achieve the position).
Since he must use his 7 major and minor pieces to lure Black´s f-h pawns across, it becomes obvious that 7 is too few:
The g and h pawns both need 3 diagonal takes before they come within range; the f pawn 2. That would require 8 piece sacrifices by White, which is not possible.
Edit: aha, brilliant, Evgeniy! I take it back!
Actually horsesforcourses gave a better solution which results in a position shown in the first post and mine has lots of white pieces on the board
sac all white's material!
For everyone who has been wondering, it can be both White or Black to move.
well that's still quite easy. How about this?
amazing... lol Pretty crazy what position you can achieve if both sides are working toward it.
FYI it can be done in 40 moves but so far nobody except me has found it.
Can you show it then Arkhimeedes?
It might be possible to find even a quicker way but I'm a bit sceptical about it.
The following position can be reached in 34 moves. Also there's two solutions to a mate in 8:
How do I beat a 2000+?
by Andre_Harding 2 minutes ago
by Tom_Hindle 3 minutes ago
Line against the French?
by hijodeluna 5 minutes ago
8/1/2014 - Cserna-Pogats 1986
by Doorvagarg 11 minutes ago
What happens if your opponent dies at the chessboard ?
by SicilianSveshnikov 14 minutes ago
1800s(USCF) Noob or strong?
by varelse1 14 minutes ago
I Don't See the Point of the Touch-Move Rule
by December_TwentyNine 17 minutes ago
Why did you choose the username you have?
by Depthless_Lala 21 minutes ago
Stuff Non-Chess Players Say
by December_TwentyNine 22 minutes ago
Premove in Online Correspondence Chess
by MeTristan 39 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!