Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

3 fold repetition and triangulation


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    KarlPilkington

    If a position has repeated itself twice, and the only way to win the position is by triangulation... will the resulting third repeat of the position be considered a draw?

     

    In other words, will it be 3-fold repetition if you reached that position with the other side to move instead of you? 

     

    Only people who understand what triangulation is will be able to answer this.


    Thanks,

    Karl

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    omnipaul

    No.  To be considered the same position, the same person has to be on move.  Also, if castling or en passant is available at one point but not later, then they are not the same position.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    MrEdCollins

    Paul's correct.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    KarlPilkington

    Thanks.


Back to Top

Post your reply: