Forums

chess program that allow to set elo rating for computer opponent?

Sort:
Ittayd

Hi,

I'm a newbie to chess. As I want to improve my chess, I want to play against the computer. Is there a program where I can set the ELO rating of the computer opponent? (best if it is updated automatically to match my skill based on previous games)

Thanks,

Ittay

HGMuller

Perhaps LucasChess is something for you. (I must admit I never tried it myself).

http://lucaschess.host22.com/

Note that it is difficult to assign a well-defined Elo to engines, because they think differently from Humans. There exist engines with an option to set the 'skill level' (e.g. Crafty), but this often leads to very unnatural blunders. So it is often better to simply use a weaker engine than use a very strong engine that is artificially weakened. (Although weakening by limiting their thinking time is usually not that bad.)

LucasChess uses this method: different engines. But you can emulate that with any interface (WinBoard, Arena, Shredder), of course, picking your own engines. As the weakest engines have Elo ratings below zero, there must be something of the strength you want...

Ittayd

LucasChess looks nice. Thanks!

nigelnorris

Firtz 12 lets you set its ELO. In the training bar choose Rated Game, in there there's a slider from 1200 to 2300, plus a checkbox that say 'Unleashed' which is apparently ELO 3158

Oh and I just played a couple of quick games set initially at 1200 and as I lost it reduced its ELO even further, it's playing me at 1081 atm.

nigelnorris

It's often difficult, even on here, to find humans who will let you play the same opening lines repeatedly, or practise fixed piece endgames, or allow you to take back moves to find out how it might have happened.

nigelnorris

well I can't even beat the bl00dy thing set to 1081 so it's sure harder than chess.com ratings. Who'd have thought it.

gztgztgzt