Forums

How do you improve your rating by 100 points quickly?

Sort:
rulergeorge

Hi, I've been stuck at 1700 USCF rating for a while, and I would like to push it to 1800. Does anyone know an efficient way to improve? (without tactics training?) Preferably 1800+ USCF responses!

Thanks!

blueemu

A 1600-1700 rating is almost strong enough to start studying Pawn structure and the effect that it has on your choice of a strategic plan. I would still suggest that you give top priority to Model Mates, basic tactical elements, and combinations.

Whompo

I am not 1700+ by a long shot, but play against stronger opponents. I am 1074 and my average opponent's rating is 1300 something and my rating has gone up after i started playing people better than me (yes, 1074 is improved from my former rating.)

TheGreatOogieBoogie
builderboss126 wrote:

I am not 1700+ by a long shot, but play against stronger opponents. I am 1074 and my average opponent's rating is 1300 something and my rating has gone up after i started playing people better than me (yes, 1074 is improved from my former rating.)

Beginners have different needs from intermediates.  You need to learn not to hang pieces and calculate all checks, captures, threats, and ask yourself who stands better, by how much, and why.  You may ask, "but how do I evaluate if I don't know what to look for!"  That's where positional study comes into play.  Just study basics such as weak squares and pawns, strengths and weaknesses of pieces (e.g., bishops being stronger generally than knights, being even stronger in an endgame as they can control both flanks, bishop without a counterpart, play where your bishops point to, rooks needing open lines, a knight on the sixth especially on a central outpost like e6 is usually worth sacrificing a rook for, bishops being defenders of weak squares, etc), and of course tactics. 

As for the intermediate here's what Heisman recommends: