Forums

I need some help

Sort:
snuske

Hi there

Well I have been playing chess regularly for around 2 years, and the first and a half year I improved on a steady basis, but the last year I have kind of not got better, in fact on the contrary. For some reasosn I just focus as much when I play, I just really seem to care as much for some reason... But well I have two specific points, I would like your advice on:

1. First of all, I am just a really bad loser, I have really tried to improve on it, but it just really bother me every time I lose. Especially if I am outplayed I just feel really stupid, and get immensly frustrated. So I have tried to learn to lose for now like 2 years it might have got a little better, but still from time to time, I just get really angry about getting beaten or something like that. As GM Daniel King says, when you lose you feel stupid, and that is the worst you can feel, and I must say that I think he is spot on. So have any of you been able to at least become decent losers?

2. Also when I play longer games, lately I have kind of got lazy. I just cannot be bothered to sit and calculate versions for like 15 mins. or longer, I do not know, but I just think that doing all this calculating is just really mentally exhausting. Also I have noticed that a lot of players (myself included) play very fast, though they are playing slower games (time control 45 45, 45 15 or something like that). So got any advice on that?

Norb68

I guess for me its cuz i play ALOT of bullet games.

losingmove

You've been working hard...take a break

MichaelVIzzo

please go back to the old format, this new one blows

Atkinsr0522