Forums

Pattern Recognition vs. Calculation

Sort:
e4nf3

When I started playing chess, long ago, it was all about calculation. Nowadays, it's all about pattern recognition.

Have you played a lot of tactics trainer here? If so, have you noticed that only if you've played the tactics exhaustively and they start to repeat that you are calculating more than recognizing patterns?

And in real game play...how many times have you said: "Oh, I've seen that exact same pattern on tactics trainer."

Mark Twain said that history doesn't repeat...it rhymes. Seems to me this is also true of chess.

I might see, for example a smothered mate candidate move somewhat similar to one I practiced on a tactics trainer. That does help. But...not all that much.

I still find myself calculating. Looking at up to three...pushing the envelope to four..."moves ahead" and weighing all the opponent's options.

I think this "pattern recognition" thing is over hyped. What do you think?

CerebralAssassin

I find that the more TT I do...the less calculating I do and on many problems I just go into-"auto pilot" mode for at least the first move...then "feeling" my way through the problem instead of calculating everything from the start.so yeah....I think it's more about pattern recognition than brute calculating.

Kingpatzer

Pattern recognition doesn't replace calculation. Anyone who has said it does is lying. 

Rather, being able to recognize common patterns makes calculating more efficient as you are more likely to recognize the salient features of a position faster if you are intimately familiar with the pattern present. 

If you've done enough tactics problems, you'll be aware that a bishop and rook can be used to create a back rank mating opportunity with the bishop cutting off the escape square in front of the king and protecting the rook right next to the king.

If you know that pattern, then a position such as the following: