Forums

Go(wei-chi) study helps Chess players

Sort:
zazen5

I have played chess since 2000.  In my limited experience I have seen extensive analysis of games without examining attack and defense either simultaneously or separate, in addition to tactics vs. strategy both short term and long term.  Conventional chess study reviews games but due to the constricted nature of the game it is highly difficult to say what will happen due to the none static nature of the game.  I propose that those interested also study Go, or wei-chi.  Below I have listed informative links so that those players here reading this forum may benefit from this schooling if they choose to do so:

The reason Im posting about Go in a chess forum is I like both games, but they are different and interact mentally in different ways.  I started playing chess in 2000, didnt get serious about Go until about last year.  

Go study I believe is profitable and this is why I study it also in terms of real world application.  In Asia Go is used to train businesspeople and military and has been for about 2500 years.  The rules are essentially unchanged since that time.  It is from this game that the term "Atari" is from, which means to put in "check".  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Go_(game)  

Here are some sites that will probably keep you occupied(im not kidding) for a long time, my favorites.

http://senseis.xmp.net/?PagesForBeginners, helps explain the game a huge library of free resource for study.

http://tsumego.tasuki.org/?page=tsumego free printable .pdf files(use these later once you understand the basics) some problems from as early as 1100 AD china.  I printed some of these out and study them on my lunchhour at work.