Forums

Mate in 6 (VERY HARD)

Sort:
TempterMan

HINT: Slow and waiting move from the rook is all it takes! ;-)

I'm kind of new to chess puzzles, but... wouldn't this make it winnable for Black? I mean, White can either trade the Knights after Nc6 or run away with theirs, sacrificing their checkmate in return...

Fabian0Marijuana

Prativa, that variation leads to 2 moves checkmate, 3.Nd5+ Kf5 4.Re5#

Analyse before posting next time

Fabian0Marijuana

And dont put the puzzle in the middle of your sentence, that looks stupid xD

Fabian0Marijuana
prativa_pralh wrote:

Please stop spoiling this awesome puzzle with your crap

stephen_33

Tough one alright !  I couldn't make sense of black's first move until it occured to me that this is about Zugzwang - he's forced to make a disadvantageous move. After all, black's king is blocked & either of the two black knight moves results in immediate mate by 2.Nd5 or 2.Ng8.

As amcgee3 points out, black's queen must attack the d5/g8 sqares & can only do that from a8, g2 or d8, hence the rather strange triangulation.

I got the early moves by guesswork or trial & error - did anyone get this in one ?

Satisfyingly difficult - not one for beginners.

TempterMan
stephen_33 wrote:

Tough one alright !  I couldn't make sense of black's first move until it occured to me that this is about Zugzwang - he's forced to make a disadvantageous move. After all, black's king is blocked & either of the two black knight moves results in immediate mate by 2.Nd5 or 2.Ng8.

As amcgee3 points out, black's queen must attack the d5/g8 sqares & can only do that from a8, g2 or d8, hence the rather strange triangulation.

I got the early moves by guesswork or trial & error - did anyone get this in one ?

Satisfyingly difficult - not one for beginners.

"did anyone get this in one ?"

Probably not! This is way too hard to get it at first try.

TempterMan

I inserted a hint just to help a little bit since it's too hard!

tolikid