Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

2013 Tata Steel Lineup Announced

  • SonofPearl
  • on 11/5/12, 9:32 AM.

tata_logo.jpgThe organisers of the annual Tata Steel chess festival in Wijk Aan Zee have today announced the confirmed line-ups for the A and B Groups at the 75th edition to be held from 11-27 January 2013.

Despite the difficult economic environment, the A Group once again has an excellent mix of players and promises to be a great tournament.

World #1 Magnus Carlsen will be in Wijk for the 10th year in succession, and last year's winner world #2 Lev Aronian will be defending his title.

Red hot star Fabiano Caruana is next in ranking order, followed by world champion Vishy Anand. The 2011 winner Hikaru Nakamura will be flying the flag for the USA, while four local players will hope to make a good impression on the tournament, headed by Anish Giri.

2009 winner Sergey Karjakin will be in the mix again, while Pentala Harikrishna qualifies as last year's B Group winner.

Perhaps most eye-catching of all is the inclusion of women's world champion Hou Yifan in what will be her first Grand Slam tournament with the world's elite (male) players.

The A Group

Name Nat Elo Rank
Carlsen, Magnus NOR 2848 1
Aronian, Levon ARM 2815 2
Caruana, Fabiano ITA 2786 5
Anand, Viswanathan IND 2775 6
Karjakin, Sergey RUS 2775 7
Nakamura, Hikaru USA 2755 12
Wang, Hao CHN 2737 19
Leko, Peter HUN 2732 22
Giri, Anish NED 2715 28
Harikrishna, Pentala IND 2692 59
van Wely, Loek NED 2691 61
Sokolov, Ivan NED 2677 77
L'Ami, Erwin NED 2629 134
Hou, Yifan CHN 2606 203

The B Group is an interesting mix of youth and experience. The three top finishers from this year's Junior World Championship, Alexander Ipatov, Richard Rapport and Nils Grandelius will be playing, as will 16-year old Russian star Daniil Dubov

The more experienced members of the B Group will include former winners Predrag Nikolic and Jan Timman.  The C Group line-up will be announced nearer to the event.

The B Group

Name Nat Elo
Naiditsch, Arkadij GER 2708
Edouard, Romain FRA 2688
Movsesian, Sergei ARM 2688
Ni, Hua CHN 2681
Tiviakov, Sergey NED 2659
Nikolic, Predrag BIH 2650
Turov, Maxim RUS 2630
Rapport, Richard HUN 2621
Smeets, Jan NED 2615
Dubov, Daniil RUS 2600
Grandelius, Nils SWE 2593
Ipatov, Alexander TUR 2593
Timman, Jan NED 2579
van Kampen, Robin NED 2574


Who will you be cheering for in 2013 in Wijk Aan Zee?

6726 reads 43 comments
2 votes


  • 2 years ago


    i yhink tata is a racist tourney

  • 3 years ago


    Kramnik & Morozevich are missing....Frown

  • 3 years ago


    I think Wesley So is in Group C

  • 3 years ago


    Bat si wesley wala?

  • 3 years ago


    wesley so should be there?

  • 3 years ago


    Wolfemonster:  The reason is simple -- the participants in group A who are lower-rated that those on top of group B are there all for special reasons.

    One is a top female in the world (whose place and aspirations is among the top, she would not have played in group B, and it would have honestly been an offense, especially given that the Dutch are very sensitive and gentle people), and 3 other players are among the top Dutch GMs (and the Dutch are organizing the tournament and providing the money for it so many years, so it's a bow to them for all they're doing).

  • 3 years ago


    Why are their participants in group A whose ratings are lower than many participants in group B?

  • 3 years ago


    go Yifan go! i have a feeling Wesley So might be in group C

  • 3 years ago


    It's clearly male-dominated, but I am rooting for Yifan Laughing

  • 3 years ago


    am missing two players

  • 3 years ago


    Looking Forward to witness the giants on the move.

  • 3 years ago


    Hou Yifan playing with the mens! Way to go!

  • 3 years ago

    NM Petrosianic

    karjakin changed federations a few years ago.

  • 3 years ago


    thought S.karjakin is ukranian

  • 3 years ago


    Magnus Carlsen beat 'em all.

  • 3 years ago


    It's amazing that the A-group has a single Russian player.  Years ago that would have been unthinkable, while keeping the tournament among elite players.  These days, it's more and more the norm.  Not that Kramnik, Morozevich, Svidler, and others couldn't compete on equal footing with the current line-up of players, but the line-up does show that more and more countries have very strong players to field.

    Good luck to Yifan Hou -- it'll be a serious challenge for her, but I trust she can do well, and learn a ton from the experience.  It takes courage to enter such field no matter who you are!

  • 3 years ago



    But Nakamura won last year. He's performed badly recently but don't count him out. He is one of those players who has his up tournaments and his down tournaments. 

  • 3 years ago



  • 3 years ago


    I hope Yifan Hou does well in the A group....also, it would be nice if Anand wins a game for a change....and Nakamura gets out of the tailspin he has been in.

  • 3 years ago


    It will be between Aronian and Carlsen as always. 

Back to Top

Post your reply: