Chess - Play & Learn


FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store


2011 ND State Chess Championship

May 2, 2011, 3:39 PM 4

The 2011 ND state chess championship was held this past weekend at the Howard Johnson Hotel in Fargo, ND. This was a very enjoyable tournament and very well organized and directed. I would like to thank Lon Larson and Joe McNamara for the effort they put into this tournament as well as anyone else that helpped out that I do not know of. At the business meeting on Sunday morning we elected the new officers and they are President Dan McClintic, VP Lon Larson, S/T Mike Sailer, Public relations officer Joe McNamara. We are still looking for a newsletter editor and anyone interest and a member of the NDCA please let me know. We also inducted Brian Thompson (ndchessnut) into the NDCA Hall of Fame. Brian has donated so much of his time and experience to the NDCA and deserves a place of recognition among the other members of the NDCA Hall of Fame. Other items of business include a treasury report and the finances are good, and approving $200 to Matt Koppinger to go the the Denker Tournament of HS champions. Here is a link to the cross table of the event http://main.uschess.org/component/option,com_wrapper/Itemid,181/ as is noted the results are not in tiebreak order. Mike Sailer won the title Nikita Barabanov was the runner up, Scott Hogfoss was 1st class A, Alex Braun was 1st Class B, Greg Carlsen was 1st Class C, Seth Deikman was 1st class D and Karl Manthey was 1st class e/unr and also won the biggest upset prize for a win over Marvin Johnson. I am adding my games to this blog, anyone else that would like to have their games posted please send them or comment to this blog. I hope you enjoy.



Online Now