Blogs
Webinar 104. Most Beautiful Tactic: Windmill

Webinar 104. Most Beautiful Tactic: Windmill

Gertsog
|
5

Dear Chess Friends!

Recently one of my students demonstrated an interesting game where he was completely winning with a lot of extra material, but blundered in a simple position. His opponent decided to apply a Windmill, but instead could just deliver a checkmate in 2 moves. Why did he choose a windmill instead of an immediate win? Probably he just didn’t notice a checkmate, but maybe he decided to apply this most beautiful combination to enjoy the beauty of chess.

Windmill (some people call a “seesaw”) is a tactic in which you combine discovered checks and regular checks, often forcing the opposing king to move back and forth between two squares. Usually, a windmill can be delivered with Bishop & Rook, sometimes with Bishop & Knight. And as a result, a defensive side usually faces with huge material losses. However, to be able to apply a windmill usually you have to sacrifice something (maybe even your Queen), but don’t worry, at least you can get a draw from a windmill by doing a perpetual check.

Please, look at this position. Do you think the game is over, because black has a lot of extra material? No! It’s white to move!

Would you like to learn how to create a windmill in your chess games or just enjoy the beauty of chess and watch how top chess players prepare and initiate this tactical motif?

If yes, welcome to my 104th webinar “Most Beautiful Tactic: Windmill”.

Join the webinar, learn how to prepare and apply a windmill, implement it in your games and defeat your opponents with amazing tactics!

The webinar starts on Sunday (21st of November) at 9 a.m. (EST), 2 p.m. (GMT), 5 p.m. (Moscow time). This webinar is free.

Please, join for the webinar on my Twitch or YouTube channels:

https://www.twitch.tv/tricks_of_chess

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfk1bxCgvfhNRPtUZs0FWOw

See you at the webinar!

FM Victor Neustroev