Blogs
Webinar 113. The Art of Direct Attack

Webinar 113. The Art of Direct Attack

Gertsog
| 2

Dear Chess Friends!

I’m sure everyone solves chess puzzles from time to time. It helps you to learn tactical motifs and, of course, improve your calculation skills and tactical vision. What tactical motifs are the most common? Probably, pins, double attack, discovered attack, distraction, attraction, x-ray, blockade, annihilation of defense and some other.

However, I doubt that many of you know about Direct Attack. What does this tactical motif mean? As you can tell from the name it’s such a situation in a chess game, where you have to attack directly. To be precise, Direct Attack is such a tactic when you create a direct threat to the enemy king or other enemy pieces, and your opponent can’t defend against it.

According to my experience of teaching students, a lot of club players just ignore this tactical motif, they don’t even believe that something like this may work, so they calculate deep and complicated tactics with checks and forcing moves instead.

That’s why I decided to devote my next webinar to this topic and I’m glad to invite you to my next 113th webinar “The Art of Direct Attack”, where you will learn how to find and how to implement this tactical motif in your own games.


The webinar starts on Sunday (6th of February) at 9 a.m. (EST), 2 p.m. (GMT), 5 p.m. (Moscow time). This webinar is free. 

 

Please, join for the webinar on my Twitch or YouTube channels:


https://www.twitch.tv/tricks_of_chess
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfk1bxCgvfhNRPtUZs0FWOw

UPDATED! The recording of the webinar below:


See you at the webinar!

FM Victor Neustroev