Blogs
Webinar 118. The Attack on Fianchettoed Kingside Castled Position

Webinar 118. The Attack on Fianchettoed Kingside Castled Position

Gertsog
| 6

Dear Chess Friends!

During the game when I know that my opponent is going to attack my king on the kingside I always fianchetto the bishop there. Why? Well, it’s the most solid setup to face the enemy attack. There are not only pawns covering the king, but the bishop as well. You can obtain some extra space there as well and join other pieces to the defense if needed.

That’s why my opponent usually experiences some serious problem with his attack. However, kingside fianchetto has its pros and cons.

For example, if you play with black pieces and fianchetto on the kingside you make the g6-pawn the object of the attack, especially if white advances their h-pawn. There is always a risk that your dark-squared bishop on g7 can be exchanged and h6- & f6-squares become weak. 

As for advantage that you get with a fianchetto, the main one is that your g6-pawn stops enemy light-squared bishop’s attack. Another option is to play f7-f5 to grab some space and fight for the center in case if it doesn’t weaken your king.

Anyway, it’s good to learn how to attack the enemy king when it’s covered with a fianchetto. That’s why, I’m going to illustrate it at my next webinar.

I’m glad to invite you to my next 118th webinar “The Attack on Fianchettoed Kingside Castled Position”, where you will learn how to undermine the kingside fianchetto to attack the king then.

The webinar starts on Sunday (13th of March) at 9 a.m. (EST), 2 p.m. (GMT), 5 p.m. (Moscow time). This webinar is free.

Please, join for the webinar on my Twitch or YouTube channels:
https://www.twitch.tv/tricks_of_chess
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfk1bxCgvfhNRPtUZs0FWOw

and improve your chess performance!


See you at the webinar!

FM Victor Neustroev