Webinar 34. Two Rooks vs Queen: Who Is Stronger?

Webinar 34. Two Rooks vs Queen: Who Is Stronger?

Gertsog
FM Gertsog
|
4

Dear Chess Friends!

What is better - Queen or Two Rooks? What do you think? If we calculate materially - 9 pawns (Queen) vs 10 pawns (Two Rooks). Are two rooks better?

No, because everything depends on the concrete position! The queen is stronger in the middlegame, while the rooks are not active yet. However, 2 rooks are quite strong in the endgame, especially when it comes to passed pawns or a need to block such pawns. One rook attacks a pawn from behind, the other one can grab another material 😊

However, even in the endgame a Queen has some tactical chances: double attack, mating threats of even a perpetual check. That’s why I actually prefer to play with a queen versus a rook pair.

Do you want to learn how to play with a Queen versus Two Rooks successfully? Or how to exploit a pair of rooks versus queen? What typical ideas and maneuvers keep in mind?

If yes, I would like to invite you to my next 34th webinar: “Two Rooks vs Queen: Who Is Stronger?”

I’m going to illustrate everything by the examples of games played by top grandmasters and, of course, explain the ideas behind their moves:

  • David Bronstein – Alexander Kotov
  • Samuel Reshevsky – Viacheslav Ragozin
  • Alexander Alekhine – Andor Lilienthal
  • Mikhail Chigorin – George Mackenzie

And, of course, I prepared 2 exercises for you! So that you may try your new skills and abilities there at the webinar!

The webinar starts on Sunday (24th of May) at 10 a.m. (EDT), 2 p.m. (GMT), 5 p.m. (Moscow time). This webinar is free.

Please, register for the webinar with this link:

https://tricksofchess.clickmeeting.com/webinar-34-two-rooks-vs-queen-who-is-stronger-/register

Please, don’t forget to register in advance and reserve your spot in case of high number of attendees.

See you on the webinar!

FM Victor Neustroev