Webinar 45. The Technique of Playing Rook Endgames

Webinar 45. The Technique of Playing Rook Endgames

Gertsog
FM Gertsog
|
3

Dear Chess Friends!

People always ask me about how to play the endgame: what plan to apply, what to attack and how to not lose the endgame.

When we talk about middlegames, first thing that comes to our mind is a kingside attack, second – tactical opportunities (usually there are plenty of them in the middlegame stage of the game) and third – strategical plans that can improve your position (and pieces) in general.

But what comes to our mind when we talk about the endgames?

  • Pawn weaknesses
  • Weak squares
  • Pieces activity
  • And Centralization of your king

Of course, endgames deserve more detailed examination! But if you don’t know what to start with, I recommend starting with Rook Endgames. Why? Because, in practice when you play an endgame there is at least one rook pair there.

If you think your position is worse and the only result you desire is a draw, I highly recommend to pass the game into a rook endgame. In rook endgames (even without a pawn) you have more practical chances to make a draw.

That’s why I decided to conduct a webinar devoted to Rook Endgames! Welcome to my next 45th webinar - “The Technique of Playing Rook Endgames”

What we are going to cover during the webinar:

  1. Philidor Position
  2. How to Build a Bridge

And then we’ll talk about drawing tendencies in Rook Endgames and analyze 2 positions from famous games:

  • Alexander Alekhine – Jose Raul Capablanca
  • Garry Kasparov – Nigel Short

The webinar starts on Sunday (16th of August) at 10 a.m. (EDT), 2 p.m. (GMT), 5 p.m. (Moscow time). This webinar is free.

Please, register for the webinar with this link:

https://tricksofchess.clickmeeting.com/rook-endgames/register

Please, don’t forget to register in advance and reserve your spot in case of high number of attendees.

See you on the webinar!

FM Victor Neustroev