Blogs
Webinar 99. The Greek Gift Sacrifice Bxh7(h2)+

Webinar 99. The Greek Gift Sacrifice Bxh7(h2)+

Gertsog
|
2

Dear Chess Friends!

After both players castled short their kings are covered with the pawns. While f7 and f2 pawns are protected with the rooks, the only other way to deliver a checkmate is to attack the king on g7 (g2) or h7 (h2). But how to attack exactly? Of course, there are many plans to follow, but at least want you to remember that if you have a material advantage on the kingside, you may analyze sacrifices to remove enemy king’s pawn cover and expose him.

But how to sacrifice? The answer is “everything depends on the position”, but there are some typical sacrificing patterns to learn. If sacrificing a piece on g7 (g2) is quite rare – it’s not a check and you can hardly attack the g7 (g2) pawn with pieces located in your camp, the sacrifice on h7 (h2) makes more sense! It’s a check and your bishop standing on d3 (d6) can easily do it.

Such a pattern even has its own name – “The Greek Gift Sacrifice” and this is what I’m going to talk about in my next webinar. I’m glad to invite you to my next webinar 99th “The Greek Gift Sacrifice Bxh7(h2)+”

Join the webinar, learn how to sacrifice on h7, continue the attack and improve your performance!

The webinar starts on Sunday (17th of October) at 10 a.m. (EDT), 2 p.m. (GMT), 5 p.m. (Moscow time). This webinar is free.

Please, join for the webinar on my Twitch or YouTube channels:

https://www.twitch.tv/tricks_of_chess

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfk1bxCgvfhNRPtUZs0FWOw

See you at the webinar!

FM Victor Neustroev