En pass-on

  • Hairy
  • | Jul 26, 2007 at 2:39 PM
  • | Posted in: Hairy's Blog
  • | 25387 reads

I'm not sure weather or not thats spelt correctly but can some one please en pass-on to me and the benefit of it. Thanks


  • 8 years ago


    Many people are familiar with the basic rules of chess, there is one obscure move related to pawns that most players are unaware of and that is "En-Passant" or "En-Pass"

    Let us first review the basic rules governing the movement of pawns in chess. From their initial position, pawns are allowed to move either one or two spaces forward (provided that there are no pieces blocking their path). After being moved from their initial position, pawns can only move one space forward provided that there are no obstructing pieces.

    Pawns capture opponent's pieces by moving diagonally one space. Taking en passant is an additional way that pawns are allowed to capture opponent's pawns. Suppose that the chess game has progressed and I have advanced my my pawn three spaces from its initial position (figure 1). Now consider one of the columns to the right or left of my pawn. If you advanced your pawn from its original position two squares forward, it would occupy the square next to mine (figure 2). I am allowed to move diagonally to the space behind your pawn (to the spot you would have occupied had you only moved one space forward), and capture the pawn you just moved (figure 3)! With the en passant rule, I am able to capture your pawn as if it had moved one space forward even though it moved two spaces forward. I am only allowed, however, to take your pawn enpassant in the move immediately after your movement of the pawn in question.

    Bala Venkateswara Rao S (www.9thClick.com)

    figure 1 figure 2

    figure 3

  • 9 years ago


    Yeah, I am ashamed to admit but i do not even know this
  • 9 years ago


    Thanks, and thats a basic rule of chess??? Oh my god i've got so much to learn!!!!
  • 9 years ago


    En passant (French for "in passing") is one of the basic move rules of chess. It's neither beneficial nor detrimental; it just is.

    The initial pawn move allows the pawn to move either 1 or 2 squares. If the pawn is moved two squares and passes an opponent's pawn in the process, the opponent has the right to capture that pawn as if it had moved only 1 square. So, basically, a pawn can't be moved two squares on it's first move to avoid being captured. The opponent has the option to allow the move or to capture the pawn.



Back to Top

Post your reply: