Chess - Play & Learn


FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store


Draw Mister!

Dec 12, 2009, 6:09 PM 0

I thought I would blog about the recent rash of opponents who offer a draw when they are losing.  That is not the reason to offer a draw ... unless they are hoping that you are stupid enough to not realize that you have the upper hand.  I have been playing chess seriously for about a year and in the last couple of months I have had several opponents offer a draw; one move away from checkmate, after losing their queen or when it is just their King on the board.  What is going on?  You can offer a draw if you were able to get a threefold repetition of checks without checkmate, there's a stalemate or WHEN IT IS OBVIOUS THAT NEITHER SIDE WILL WIN.  That's it.  You do not offer a draw when you are losing.  When you are losing, guess what?  You're losing!  Now that I think about it I think there is something about the 50 move rule.  Ok, rant done.

Online Now