PAWN PROMOTION SKILLS.

rohitrocks2017
rohitrocks2017
Dec 10, 2017, 2:36 AM |
0
 
  SURPRISED!!!


            Indeed,the question might surprise you.In real life,there are many problems which keep on popping its head out for pawn promotion than you can imagine.There are many reasons for this sad phenomenon,we can partially consider it as FIDE’S fault as they have created complicated chess rule.It reminds me of a chess joke that the best chess arbiter or expert is the one who disappears during tournament.

             The main skill of a good tournament director is to prevent any problem before it even appears.These days chess arbiters need to be accredited by FIDE and simultaneously they have to participate in  the endledd arbiter seminars.It is very profitable business for FIDE and hence it makes perfect sense for it to make chess rule more and more complicated,inventing doping tests “Zero tolerance”rules,etc.

    In Women’s World Blitz Championship as you know that an illegal move was punished by instant loss in blitz,so it is mandatory to follow the official rule.

It is both happy and sad to watch arbiters teach on international master how to promote pawn.

 
   

It looks like as FIDE polishes the rules on a monthly basis,you can never be sure.A well-known Russian Grand Master and trainer admits on facebook that he doesnt know anymore how to promote pawn.

Here is how Wikipedia describes what happened:

Karpov was in serious time trouble, with one minute to make 16 moves. In this position, Kasparov captured the rook on d1 with the pawn on c2, and said "Queen!", indicating that the promoted piece was a queen. However, no queen was immediately available. It took some time for the arbiter to come up with a black queen. Kasparov said that if he had been attentive, he would have promoted to a rook, which was available. Kasparov's clock was running while the arbiter was getting a queen, so he started Karpov's clock. Karpov immediately played 25.Qxe4 and Kasparov told him that he was in check. Karpov replied "From what? It might be a bishop on d1." The clocks were stopped. The arbiter found a black queen, the game was backed up to the position after 24...cxd1=Q+, and Karpov was given an extra two minutes on his clock because of Kasparov's illegal move (since starting the opponent's clock signified the completion of his move, which was not possible without a piece to promote to).

 

 
  The FIDE rules:


If the player moves a pawn to the last rank and presses the clock without replacing the pawn with a promotion piece, the player has completed an illegal move (see item 5 for implications) and the pawn shall be replaced by a queen of the same color as the pawn. The player has no choice in the promotion piece,
even if promoting the pawn to a queen causes stalemate.

It is illegal to use an inverted rook to mean "queen" when promoting a pawn. If a promotion piece is not readily available, the player must stop the clocks and ask the arbiter for assistance. 

The USCF rules:

If a player does not replace a pawn on the last rank with a promotion piece and presses the clock, the opponent may immediately press the clock or stop the clock and summon a director (advisable in
an increment time control). The player does not lose the right of choice of promotion piece.

The US Chess rules explicitly state that, when promoting a pawn, an upside-down rook is to be considered to be a queen.