Live Blog! - 2016 World Chess Candidates Round 4

smurfo
GM smurfo
Mar 14, 2016, 3:42 AM |
9

EDIT:  Good work Dave; today's a rest day! Oh well. I'll pick up again tomorrow (Tuesday) at 12.oopm GMT. Also gives FIDE 24 hours to tell me if I'm doing anything wrong :)

EDIT #2:  I got the all-clear from World Chess for the live blog. So no need to get that online law degree after all.

There's been a LOT of controversy about the World Candidates tournament in Russia, which plays its fourth round today. The issue revolves around the organiser's decision to threaten to sue any chess sites that broadcast the live games, which is contrary to what current practice has been to date. I have no idea how this will all play out, as several sites have decided to ignore the legal threats, but things are definitely going to get 'interesting'. For more background, check out this article.

Anyway, the main consequence is that chess fans around the world have missed out on getting a rewarding broadcast experience. There is live video commentary on the official page, in case you are interested. It requires (free) registration and the commentary can be a little dry, in my opinion, but it's not bad.

But as I'm going to be watching the games anyway, I've decided to blog live about the games on my website, www.davidsmerdon.com (also because I wanted to test out the plugin). From midday GMT (1pm Amsterdam, 3pm Moscow), you can see the moves and computer evaluations of the games themselves without registration at this official Norwegian broadcasting site, and I'll be sharing my thoughts on my site. Let me know what you think!