Three fold repetition

walkingcro
walkingcro
Mar 23, 2012, 5:00 PM |
4

In chess and some other abstract strategy games, the threefold repetition rule (also known as repetition of position) states that a player can claim a draw if the same position occurs three times, or will occur after their next move, with the same player to move. The repeated positions need not occur in succession. The idea behind the rule is that if the position is repeated three times, no progress is being made.

As Defined in Wickipedia

This being said I would like to know why I can not claim a draw in my game with malown when on my turn all the conditions were met, there is no progress to be made and it is a pointless game to continue playing. On move 52 after white had just moved the 3rd repetition occured and I clicked the draw button but all it did was offer a draw to my opponent instead of forcing the draw as it should have done. Here is the link to the game http://www.chess.com/echess/game.html?id=49605963