Something that bugs me

Sort:
Avatar of Kacparov

I played my first tourney aged 5 Wink

Avatar of Kacparov

Me too. I played my first tournament soon after.

Avatar of nuclearturkey
Ziryab wrote:

I would highly recommend learning and practicing and habitually using the same hand. Why invite problems with awkwardness?


Yeah that's what I'm going to do. I just wanted to know if it's actually an official rule.

Avatar of ItalianGame-inactive
Reb wrote:

Wow, I have always been under the impression that castling is considered a "king move" and that one must touch the king first when castling. This is no longer the case in the USCF ?  Was it ever then ?

I also thought it was a rule that one must ALWAYS handle the clock and pieces with the same hand.... maybe I am just old and confused ?


Really?? I did not know that. I like to move my king first just so my opponent won't get confused

Avatar of Czech_M8

Hmm...I'm reading the USCF rules now on their website. They say nothing about using the same hand for moving pieces and using the clock. They do state that in order to castle, the King must be moved first.

Avatar of ItalianGame-inactive
Czech_M8 wrote:

Hmm...I'm reading the USCF rules now on their website. They say nothing about using the same hand for moving pieces and using the clock. They do state that in order to castle, the King must be moved first.


That is a newer rule

Avatar of PrawnEatsPrawn

From FIDE Handbook:

http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=124&view=article

 

4.4

If a player having the move:

 

a.

deliberately touches his king and rook he must castle on that side if it is legal to do so

 

b.

deliberately touches a rook and then his king he is not allowed to castle on that side on that move and the situation shall be governed by Article 4.3.a

Avatar of ItalianGame-inactive
PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:

From FIDE Handbook:

http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=124&view=article

 

4.4

If a player having the move:

 

a.

deliberately touches his king and rook he must castle on that side if it is legal to do so

 

b.

deliberately touches a rook and then his king he is not allowed to castle on that side on that move and the situation shall be governed by Article 4.3.a


thanks.

Avatar of PrawnEatsPrawn

I also was brought up that if you touch a Rook, then you play a Rook move (not castling), little has changed.

 

Also, one should hit the clock with the same hand one plays the pieces with:

 

b.

A player must stop his clock with the same hand as that with which he made his move. It is forbidden for a player to keep his finger on the button or to ‘hover’ over it.

(extract for Laws of Chess, FIDE Handbook).

Avatar of ItalianGame-inactive
PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:

I also was brought up that if you touch a Rook, then you play a Rook move (not castling), little has changed.

 

Also, one should hit the clock with the same hand one plays the pieces with:

 

b.

A player must stop his clock with the same hand as that with which he made his move. It is forbidden for a player to keep his finger on the button or to ‘hover’ over it.

(extract for Laws of Chess, FIDE Handbook).


Which is my point above. If you do not, how much time do you lose?

Avatar of PrawnEatsPrawn

and finally (from the same source):

Article 4: The act of moving the pieces

4.1

Each move must be made with one hand only.

Avatar of PrawnEatsPrawn

"Which is my point above. If you do not, how much time do you lose?"

 

I suspect that the penalty largely depends on the TD, feel free to peruse the Handbook, which contains advice and special instructions for various tournaments.

 

Personally, I have never had any difficulty calling people for "touch-move" and have done so on a number of occasions, loudly and publicly. On one occasion I called it on a club-mate who had a winning position. After the enforcement of the rules, the best he could do was draw. It's never been the same between he and I, since the incident.

But Hey! don't like the rules? go play something else. No sympathy from me.

Avatar of ItalianGame-inactive
PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:

"Which is my point above. If you do not, how much time do you lose?"

 

I suspect that the penalty largely depends on the TD, feel free to peruse the Handbook, which contains advice and special instructions for various tournaments.

 

Personally, I have never had any difficulty calling people for "touch-move" and have done so on a number of occasions, loudly and publicly. On one occasion I called it on a club-mate who had a winning position. After the enforcement of the rules, the best he could do was draw. It's never been the same between he and I, since the incident.

But Hey! don't like the rules? go play something else. No sympathy from me.


I agree. Rules are there for a reason. And why do you still have me on your blocked list?

Avatar of PrawnEatsPrawn
David-Neff wrote:
PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:

"Which is my point above. If you do not, how much time do you lose?"

 

I suspect that the penalty largely depends on the TD, feel free to peruse the Handbook, which contains advice and special instructions for various tournaments.

 

Personally, I have never had any difficulty calling people for "touch-move" and have done so on a number of occasions, loudly and publicly. On one occasion I called it on a club-mate who had a winning position. After the enforcement of the rules, the best he could do was draw. It's never been the same between he and I, since the incident.

But Hey! don't like the rules? go play something else. No sympathy from me.


I agree. Rules are there for a reason. And why do you still have me on your blocked list?


Honestly? I've been waiting for you to grow up. Tongue out

Avatar of ItalianGame-inactive
PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:
David-Neff wrote:
PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:

"Which is my point above. If you do not, how much time do you lose?"

 

I suspect that the penalty largely depends on the TD, feel free to peruse the Handbook, which contains advice and special instructions for various tournaments.

 

Personally, I have never had any difficulty calling people for "touch-move" and have done so on a number of occasions, loudly and publicly. On one occasion I called it on a club-mate who had a winning position. After the enforcement of the rules, the best he could do was draw. It's never been the same between he and I, since the incident.

But Hey! don't like the rules? go play something else. No sympathy from me.


I agree. Rules are there for a reason. And why do you still have me on your blocked list?


Honestly? I've been waiting for you to grow up.


lol. I have grown up. lol. Sometimes I just have my off days where I'm upset

Avatar of Ziryab
Atos wrote:

There is no longer a rule that the King must be moved first in castling ? I find this rather surprising. It makes sense that the King should be moved first because the King can move that way only in castling, while the Rook move could be made without castling.


I was speaking of USCF rules. In FIDE rules, you must touch the king first or both at the same time.

4.3

Except as providedin Article 4.2, if the player having the move deliberately touches on the chessboard:

 

a.

one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched which can be moved

 

b.

one or more of his opponent’s pieces, he must capture the first piece touched which can be captured

 

c.

one piece of each colour, he must capture the opponent’s piece with his piece or, if this is illegal, move or capture the first piece touched which can be moved or captured. If it is unclear, whether the player’s own piece or his opponent’s was touched first, the player’s own piece shall be considered to have been touched before his opponent’s.

4.4

If a player having the move:

 

a.

deliberately touches his king and rook he must castle on that side if it is legal to do so

 

b.

deliberately touches a rook and then his king he is not allowed to castle on that side on that move and the situation shall be governed by Article 4.3.a

 

c.

intending to castle, touches the king or king and rook at the same time, but castling on that side is illegal, the player must make another legal move with his king (which may include castling on the other side). If the king has no legal move, the player is free to make any legal move

 

d.

promotes a pawn, the choice of the piece is finalised, when the piece has touched the square of promotion.