Chess on an Infinite Plane (HorribleTomato - captaintugwash)

Sort:
captaintugwash

 I guess you thought I moved to (8,10) and not (8,9).

 

And you queen wants to go to (8,23)

 

Check this bad boy out...

(the rook on a9 is actually one to the left, I just didn't want to be sneaky and make it look like it wasn't influencial)

null

captaintugwash

Now your "it's a chancellor" comment makes sense!

But if I went where you thought I went, then CxN is probably drawing. That's why I said knight and not chancellor!

HorribleTomato

Oh I thought you moved to 8,10 lol.

captaintugwash

I can block with the guard, something you might not have realised. You can reconsider your last move if you desire. I haven't begun analysing yet so I have no idea if this works for you or not. That's for you to figure out.

HorribleTomato

Yeah please block with the guard. Also your HAWK is guarding the knight happy.png Hmm.

HorribleTomato

IF K(8,10) That's what I would play but if I COULD take back, which is, IMO, taking too much for granted, CxC. 

captaintugwash

 It's a bit messy right now so let's wait for vick to give us an official board update, with it being your move after 50... K(8,9)

captaintugwash

And yeah blocking with the guard drops a rook with check, so I doubt I'll be doing that. Maybe this is ok.

captaintugwash
HorribleTomato wrote:

Also your HAWK is guarding the knight  Hmm.

So is the king...

captaintugwash

 I've edited my post for move 50 so vick knows we're waiting for the board from there.

HorribleTomato

I mean IF it went to 8,10.

HorribleTomato

Wow our game is going crazy!

vickalan

This is what I have. Both of Tomato's moves had slight typos, so this is what I believe was intended:

49.Cx(10,8)+ should be 49.Cx(11,8)+
50.Q(8,17)+ should be 50.Q(8,23)+

Btw: when calculating a diagonal move, you can double check by making sure files and ranks change by the same. So queen going from (22,9) to (8,23) is a change of 14 both ways.

(diagram deleted. Going back to 49.Cx(11,8)+ which is shown at a later post)

vickalan

(diagram deleted. Going back to 49.Cx(11,8)+ which is shown at a later post)

HorribleTomato

Now it's MY turn to steal material! Cx(11,9)

HorribleTomato

Umm did you see tugwash's edit?

vickalan

I don't see any legal move by tugwash after 50.Q(8,23)+

Tug declared H(10,9) but this doesn't parry the check. Did I miss an edit or correction?

HorribleTomato

There was a lot of confusion during page 16 (see Tugwash K(8,9) and look at his edit. You are the MOD. You may

 

Restart from K(8,9)

 

Continue from all legal moves shown.

vickalan

49...K(8,9) was a move by Tug (legal and already shown).

You followed with "50.Q(8,17)+" but that's not legal.

Do you want to play 50.Q(8,23)+? (my attempt to fix your move)

You can fix your move any way you want, but it has to be a queen move since you already specified "Q" (enforcing the "touch" rule).

captaintugwash
captaintugwash wrote:

edit - vick, tomato thought I played a different move... K(8,10)... so ignore moves after this, and we're waiting for your update.

Was this invisible?