Event Chess Game (rychessmaster1 - Bad_Dobby_Fischer)

Sort:
Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

i think you have a mistake in example 2 white can't capture the g8 knight if he just moves through the black rook, correct? he has to capture it.

also, i don't understand how in example 7 white can move the rook to f5

Avatar of Martin0

The rooks will actually never get captured. When I talk about capturing move I mean the piece must move the same way as it does when capturing pieces when moving through the rook. So since pawns needs to move diagonal forward when capturing they need to move through the rook by moving diagonally forward when they want to capture something.

So in example 2, the knight is just moving through the black rook to capture blacks knight.

In example 7, white can not move a rook to f5. Black on the other hand was able to move a rook to f5, since his pawn on f7 has a legal move to move to f5.

Avatar of Martin0

It is best to make sure you understand the rules before continuing.

Avatar of Waredude
It has not been three days yet
Avatar of Waredude
It is. But it has only been one day. And just for the record, It is a 24 hour warning.
Avatar of Martin0

The timer is not ticking while waiting for a response, like waiting for event to start after announcing to start the event, rule questions or a board update. I answered his rule question 12 hours ago when I make this post. He has plenty of time left.

The 24 hours is additional time after the timeout warning has been made and the warning can be made after the 3 days for one move has expired.

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

example 6:

isn't the white rook on f1 able to move to a1, b1, and c1? the other white rook can go there 

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

also, can rooks now capture?

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

martin should answer...

Avatar of Martin0

The first line I stated in the rules:

"Rooks can not be captured or moved with their normal movement. The only exception is castling, which can be made as normal. Promotions to rooks are no longer legal."

 

So in example 6, the rook on f1 can not go to a1, b1 or c1. And rooks can not capture either.

Avatar of Martin0

Did you even read my comment regarding the time control @rychessmaster1?

Avatar of Martin0

Over 3 days since I responded to his rule question? I don't think so.

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer
Martin0 wrote:

The first line I stated in the rules:

"Rooks can not be captured or moved with their normal movement. The only exception is castling, which can be made as normal. Promotions to rooks are no longer legal."

 

So in example 6, the rook on f1 can not go to a1, b1 or c1. And rooks can not capture either.

that means that if the two players are left with just kings and rooks it's a draw, wight? sinceif you can't capture you cant check

Avatar of Martin0

Rooks being unable to capture means they can't check, yes. Normally being left with only rooks and kings would result in a draw, but the running kings event might make one player win since getting a king to the last rank results in a win.

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

Nbd7

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

wait, won't this event allow bishops to change colors?

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

but what if a bishop goes through one rook and out the second rook, and the two are on different colors?

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

i'm just asking. sometimes you'll need it, and you can always go back. 

additionally, if you have 1 bishop you can use it in many ways. opposite colored bishops is not a problem in endgames anymore

Avatar of Martin0
 

11.Rhh4

Avatar of Bad_Dobby_Fischer

b4