chess rules

Sort:
Avatar of Baliguide

Is black pawn move: g7-g5 officially allowed considering the white's pawn has already been on the black's side of the board?

here is the position just for example:

1. d4 b6

2.d5 g5

thank you for your explanation

Regards

Gede  

Avatar of erik
http://www.chess.com/article/view/chess-rules--basics
Avatar of thelastmartian
Each pawn is allowed to move 2 spaces forward on it's first move only, so, yes it is a legal move.
Avatar of Baliguide
Thank you Erik and BladeRunner for your explanations. I appreciate it.
Avatar of Hugh_T_Patterson
This is what I love about chess.com. A question will receive a good explanation, in a timely manner. Everyone should have a copy of the rules of chess handy for just such an occassion!
Avatar of Darren96
yup you are right Hugh_T_Patterson