This is probably a REALLY stupid question but...

Sort:
amybee

... I have a protected passed pawn on B7 (I'm white). My opponent's rook is on A8... but I can't capture it and promote. Why not? (PS this isn't a real game I'm playing against someone, or I wouldn't ask for help, it's the training mode on my programme) :) Thanks!

FreeCat
Put the pgn file, please.
silentfilmstar13
The only thing I can think of is that you may be in check and not noticing it or the pawn could be pinned to your king.
amybee

Hmm think it must have been a software problem, I've restarted the computer and it's let me make the move now?!?! Weird! Thanks anyway and sorry... :|

(Edit) as I haven't been playing long I thought it was a chess rule I hadn't heard of!


Quercus_Suber

I've played d4... against you!

What's next?

By the way, I have an iMac!

lostapiece

i have immac , lol