Opponent has queen on D8 and a rook on D7.
I have a rook on E6 and King on C6. Post game analyst said I could checkmate by king to C8. That would leave my King unguarded but it placed the queen with no where to move except for taking the King (if able).
Is there a rule that I am missing?
I haven’t played in years and have recently started again. I think there’s a rule that I’m missing. I will attempt to post a photo in the comments if allowed.
If a piece puts the player in checkmate and is not guarded, is it safe?