help me learn

Sort:
Avatar of Foo721
I played a game last night and the opponent and app both told me I missed a win.

I haven’t played in years and have recently started again. I think there’s a rule that I’m missing. I will attempt to post a photo in the comments if allowed.

If a piece puts the player in checkmate and is not guarded, is it safe?
Avatar of Foo721
I don’t have an option for a photo so all I can do is explain the board.

Opponent has queen on D8 and a rook on D7.

I have a rook on E6 and King on C6. Post game analyst said I could checkmate by king to C8. That would leave my King unguarded but it placed the queen with no where to move except for taking the King (if able).

Is there a rule that I am missing?
Avatar of cerebov

What you wrote is complete nonsense. I guess that you confused the king and the queen, but even with that I can't decipher the story. Or the question. Sorry.

Avatar of nklristic

You have the option to insert chess game inside a message. Just click on a small chessboard on top of where you write a message and insert the game.

Avatar of Foo721
Yes I have the queen and king labeled backwards. I also do not see the option to post a photo.
Avatar of jonnin

you can also post a photo, second button.  If it is on a real board, instead of a half baked pic of that, take a moment to make a 2-d board in the set up position unless you are a skilled photographer. 

Avatar of Foo721

Avatar of Foo721
Can’t post pictures from the app. Have to be logged on to the website. Sorry.
Avatar of nklristic

And right next to it, you can post a photo. So choose one of the two.

Avatar of Foo721
Game analysis said I can move my queen (white) to c8 to check mate. Is there a rule that the opposing king cannot take the attacking unprotected queen?
Avatar of nklristic

No, you would lose a queen. But you could play Qa8+ and after Kc7 just play Rc6#. It actually says so on the photo you've posted. So not Qc8+ but Qa8+.