Forums

Struggling to learn (rated 614 rapid)

Sort:
Phen1231983

Hello! I'm pretty new to chess and I'm struggling to improve. I do puzzles all the time. I play a few games a day against people. I play bot games all the time. I can beat bots up to 1200 but I struggle to beat humans rated 500. 

Unfortunately, due to COVID I can't afford a tutor as I was furloughed at work and I'm living on savings at the moment. I learn best when I have a structured method of learning. Step by step. I'm struggling to find anything like this. There is so much material available I have no idea where to begin. 

At this point I feel a bit lost in my chess journey which is discouraging. I'm developing a great love of the game but it would be nice to be relatively good at the game I love! 

I guess I'm looking for suggestions on how to proceed. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

daxypoo
john bartholomew “climbing the ratings ladder” and “chess fundamentals”

video series

check out his youtube channel
JijoAttumalilJose

Let's play. I will try to help you.happy.png

JijoAttumalilJose

You can see 'learn' button on the left side of your screen. Hover your mouse on that. You will find 'lessons'. Click on that. Now you can find lessons on various topics. Explanation is given in English. Follow them, understand them and practice them. If still you have doubts, you may ask me. happy.png

Phen1231983

Thank you Jijo and Daxy. I don't have time to play a game at the moment as I'm looking for a new job but I appreciate your offer and perhaps we can play some other time! 

holyflam3

Message me if you want to play. I was at your rating two weeks ago, and just crossed 800. We can play casual games to discuss moves. From what I've learnt so far, the fastest way to grow is to play solid and actively avoid getting tunnel-visioned. Also, don't look at your opponent's rating, if it affects you psychologically.

DarkKnightAttack