FREE - In Google Play
FREE - in Win Phone Store
I've been offered a draw in one of my games. I'm playing with only one rook and my opponent has only one knight... should I accept it?
No need to say that we've been playing around a couple of moves... I know I CAN mate him with my rook but the knight has been always bothering...
Depends on position, but normally a draw.
It's against the rules of the site to talk about ongoing games. Decide whether to accept the draw or not and then, when the game is finished, post it and get others to comment on it.
jonnyjupiter, thanks and apologise.
Anyway I already decided to accept the draw... and I posted the question here since this game is on-going in another site.
Thank you, all
Bring rook to d4.
That position is a draw
Here is a good site to check stuff like this out after you finish games:
http://www.shredderchess.com/online-chess/online-databases/endgame-database.html up to 5 pieces i think not sure.
No worries. Since the game is now over I can comment:
King + rook against king + knight can only be a forced win if the knight is separated from the king or if the king is trapped in the corner, otherwise it is a draw. Your position was a draw with accurate play from both sides.
Thanks again and thanks to Sconsc for the link... I'll check it out.
I'm playing a game where I have a knight and a rook. He has a rook only.
He keeps checking me with rook and trying to force a draw. Is this a draw?
This is on Chess with friends.
Why not try cover your Knight to the King, so the rook can't give check.
However, Bishop+rook+king vs king+rook is sometimes drawn.
Knight+rook vs rook is drawn if the King is on the center.
If the King and the Knight is on the corner, then it is a win for a King+rook.