Forums

Analysis Please!

Sort:
Derpy_Chess

I am fairly new to the openings and strategy of chess, so when I play against players who know at least on opening well, I have a hard time winning a game. I hope to get some analysis so that I might learn something from one of my games against my friend.

Thank you in advance!!!! Smile

Scottrf

4. Nxe4 maybe?

7. Now you've allowed the pin you should probably bring the bishop to b2 (otherwise why play b3?). You just replace the knight being pinned to the king with it being pinned to the queen and can't adequately defend it.

17. b4?

You're just moving your rook aimlessly at the end.

ivandh

6. b3 weakens your knight on c3 and doesn't really achieve anything. Your bishop already has enough breathing room.

15... Na6? 16. Bxc6+

jonnin

recapture that pawn on move 4 with your knight.  You do NOT want a pawn that deep to become entrenched, it limits your ability to manuver both your pawns and your minor pieces.

b3 does little except take the defense off your knight.  If you DO it, you are almost committed to play Bb2 next move, which is can be great long term but right now, it limits the bishop for a while. 

8) Qd2 puts your queen under a pin with his bishop.  Put your bishop there instead.

9) Bg2 ignores the building pressure of your opponent's attack, you should do *something* to defend the other side of the board.  His attack wins a piece after this.

The queen trade favors you, bad pawns for your opponent after. 

16) Rd1 seems better. Hard to explain, but that advanced pawn might someday need the support, the B pawn does not.

17) b4?  His knight covers the square.  You give up a pawn and mess up your structure for nothing.

24 Rxe seems more useful.  At this point in the game you are vulnerable to a back rank rook mate because the bishop blocks your king's escape out... be wary.

27) you were not wary.  :)

Derpy_Chess

Thank you for the feed back. I certainly welcome it.