14998 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Can someone help me out. My opponent in one of my recent games claimed a draw. I didn't agree but after all I agreed in drawing the game.
Can someone help me out, if my opponent was right claiming a draw? If he is, I owe him a big apology. The game is below and I was playing the white pieces.
Thanks in advance. Bart
When did he offer you the draw? At the final position? Because if he offered you it at move 35, he might've thought you were going for perpetual anyway.
Well, if he can claim a draw, then he can just press the "Claim Draw" button. The opponent doesn't have to agree with a claim.
Here I see a couple positions that occurred twice, but for a draim claim, a position needs to occur three times. When that happens, the "Offer Draw" button is changed into a "Claim Draw" button. And if he doesn't claim right then (before making a move), the chance is gone.
He said that this game was drawn by the rules of chess... This was after move 36 of white.
I couldn't find three equal positions during the game, so I didn't agree. He was convinced, so I accepted his draw offer...
Well, he was wrong.
White HAS a win, but it is extremely difficult - you will have to stop his mating threats and checks (you dont have a mating threat yourself), if possible exchange the pieces (I doubt he would have allowed it) then promote the c-pawn - OR lure his king away from his king pawns with the threat of the c-pawn, and gobble up his king pawns?.
The position is filled with pitfalls - the slightest slip and either can lose quickly.
I think you did right to accept a draw.
I take my last post back - I could not work out a winning line on board - black has lots of resourceful moves - I think it is a draw.
Maybe someone of very high level can work out a win?
This post is about if black is right about the fact that he can claim a draw, as described in the rules of chess...
I would like an answer to that... Reading between the lines I was called a cheater, because I didn't accept the first draw offer. And THAT is why I want to find an answer to that question.
In the position/game you have given black cannot claim a draw by the rules of chess. Was this a chess.com game or otb , turn based or live ? There was no perpetual check, nor repitition of position ( 3 times ) and no way to claim a draw by the 50 move rule, what was he telling you was the reason for his "claim" ?
The exact discussion was:
OPPONENT: My next move repeats the position for the third time
badonders: Sorry, i just count the same position twice. I Will check this evening.
OPPONENT: this game is drawn by the rules of chess. If you want bteh game you have it. I won't be playing you again
badonders: If you say so. I still don't agree
If what he said were true then he would be able to hit the "claim draw " button and the game would be drawn automatically. He wouldnt need to ask you anything so, he lied.
At what point did he say this?
In OTB chess, you don't make the move that repeats the position, and instead claim and say "if I now play move xx, the position will be repeated for the third time". It doesn't work like that here, here you repeat first and then claim. He may be confused.
That said, I still don't see a point where black could have chosen to repeat. White yes, but for black I don't see it.
Should your opponent be made aware of this thread? I wonder what he has to say.
Tonight I will try to have a little conversation with him. Then I will point him to this thread...
The first sentence of the discussion in the game came with his 36th move of the game.
I couldn't see a draw by third. I'd say you were well within your rights to deny the draw.
If the rule was draw by 2½-fold repetition, he could claim it, but no, that position is not a claimable draw. It might be a drawn position, but that's beside the point here.
I can see that he might have thought it was, but you could have just said, show me the three positions, which 3 move numbers have identical positions? He would not be able to answer that.
you missed the good continuation after you sacrifice your a-pawn
No draw from before, and following Qh8+ then Qb2, Whites position is solid, eliminating the upcoming draw threats of Qf2+ and Qc1+, and essentially winning the game. Sorry Badonders, you've been duped ;>)
Badonders, you are too much of a nice guy :-)
Fischer said “I like the moment when I break a man's ego”. I usually don't like this quote because for me playing chess is about having fun and not about humiliating an opponent, but Badonders, you seem to be the exact opposite of Fischer.
There's no way I would agree on a draw based on that chat conversation. Specially after he said "I won't be playing you again". That's when my goal would become to break his ego.
i did break him in the revanche match ;-)
don't worry about threats... I had received multiple treats and insults and they did not stop me to have fun with another player and even play with these means opponents in second or third round of a tournament and they had to play again or loose by timeout...-:). I could be wrong but when a player usualy claim a draw is because he or she does not see how to get away from a loosing position unless it is obvious that no one can win.. but in your game you were at least 5 points ahead and winning . he saw that and intimidate you.... don't go this way and have fun...
chesster3145 vs TheronG12 correspondence match
by Pulpofeira a few minutes ago
7/30/2016 - Saric - Malisauskas, European Team Championship 20
by MarcoBR444 a few minutes ago
by howitzerhell a few minutes ago
7/26/2016 - Three Threats in One Move
by MarcoBR444 2 minutes ago
What is the rating of these 2 players (there is a surprise)?
by MarcoBR444 9 minutes ago
by Merovwig 14 minutes ago
How can you play with an International Master?
by Kevin-Smith-1 16 minutes ago
Help me explain what is not explaind in this game
by FatterAlbert 18 minutes ago
What's the difference between a Super GM and a GM?
by KID_Harish 20 minutes ago
What's the problem with moving the f pawn?
by Inexorable88 22 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!