Forums

Feedback on my first analysed game.

Sort:
Griever3216

Hi all, first post here and I would like some feedback on my first recorded game. My analysis wasn't very deep because I'm not good at long term improvement and piece harmony. My positional understanding sucks and therefore my attention (and depth move) span is low unless it involves forced positions and tactics.

My opening knowledge is almost abysmal and I just play moves until things get serious and then spend the rest of the game trying to fix my mistakes. I think this game is a typical example of this. Based just on this game, what do you think are my greatest weaknesses? What books or exercises would you recommend to improve on those aspects?

Regarding post-game analysis, how much time do you spend analysing your games and how can you make the most of chess engines?

corum

Seeme to me that despite you being quite self-critical of your opening moves, after 18. Qxd7 the position is really rather equal. White then plays Bh3 and you play Qc7!. It's just a blunder. If you play 19. cxd4, for example, then white has a slightly better center but you have resolved your backward c pawn and you have an open file to try to penetrate with your rooks. So, although you are critical of your positional play, it is a tactical mistake (19. Qc7!) that puts you in trouble.

The next move of interest to me is white's 25. Nd4. That seems a very nice square for the white. It threatens b5 but also Ne6 forking queen and rook. I can see why you like 26. ... Nc6 because it would be nice to get rid of that knight on d4; but it would have been another tactical mistake, allowing white to win another pawn with 27. Nxb5. I may have thought about 26. ... Bxd4 27. Bxd4 Nc6; it gives up the bishop pair but you do get rid of that knight.