game for analysis

Sort:
davidcarlson

This is a game I played yesterday

I think I fixed it


spiraldomain
davidcarlson wrote:

This is a game I played yesterday

I messed up inputing the moves at 32... what do I do?


 Bb3


KingsCross

I don't get what you're asking. You'll have to explain in detail where you messed up.

How come move 25 is an illegal move?

 

Kingfisher

Because white is in check in move 24.

And I think what David is asking is how to input moves into a show board in a post here, right? As far as that goes, once you hit insert it's pretty much screwed totally.  You can only delete it and put a new one with all correct moves.   


davidcarlson
Kingfisher wrote:

Because white is in check in move 24.

And I think what David is asking is how to input moves into a show board in a post here, right? As far as that goes, once you hit insert it's pretty much screwed totally.  You can only delete it and put a new one with all correct moves.   


 yeah, I guess I'll just make a new one


sstteevveenn

no, there is a thread with most of the answers about the board thing in the help section somewhere.  You can edit a board by simply clicking the placemarker and then clicking the little board icon again.


davidcarlson
sstteevveenn wrote:

no, there is a thread with most of the answers about the board thing in the help section somewhere.  You can edit a board by simply clicking the placemarker and then clicking the little board icon again.


thanks, but I ended up deleting it and creating a new one

KingsCross

Because white is in check in move 24 is why the bishop was moved on move 25 to block the queens attack. That's legal. I see the explanation now of what the original move was, makes sense. That wasn't apparent beforehand. Oh cool, this was a match that you inputted from offline play. Against Lake Braddock? What's that touch-move rule about?

 

Daniel

sstteevveenn
ah, this was confusing to me too, i think it's his first time using the board tool, and the text is in the wrong place.  I think the touch move rule only applies to where he blocked the check, losing a piece, because he initially touched his bishop in order to try to exchange bishops. 
KingsCross
So it's touch-piece rule; not touch-move rule, because he made an illegal move.
sstteevveenn
well, touch-move just means, you have to move the piece that you touched, he seems to have attempted to take on g7, thus touching his own bishop and being forced to move it.  The only legal bishop move was to block the check, unfortunately losing his bishop in the process. 
davidcarlson
sstteevveenn wrote: well, touch-move just means, you have to move the piece that you touched, he seems to have attempted to take on g7, thus touching his own bishop and being forced to move it.  The only legal bishop move was to block the check, unfortunately losing his bishop in the process. 

yes

 

this is my first time using the board tool, and I'm sorry if anything was confusing

 

this was part of the Metro Area Chess League http://www.chessctr.org/macl.php

I play board 4 for Madison (Southern division). We destroyed Lake Braddock Tongue out, 4.5 - .5

KingsCross

Cool, you played your part for your school and scored a victory. It doesn't sound like Braddock did so well. I played once or a few times against some of the guys I knew from high school once I started to get into it during the college years. They weren't really good. I don't think they were any of the guys who'd play at lunch, but I could be wrong. Yeah, touch-piece, because if you don't move it and you touch it you would still have to move it. Otherwise, once you lift the piece off the chessboard, that's the piece you are moving, thus, touch-move.

 Daniel

sstteevveenn

It's just touch move... you are describing the same rule twice.  Deliberately touch, prod, lift, adjust without announcing, then you must move this piece if your opponent requests it before he has deliberately touched a piece, and it has a legal move.  This is touch move.  Touch piece just sounds like someone misnamed the rule. 

 

Once you move a piece and let go, it's no longer your move, so you cant grab it and move it back.  That isnt really touch move. 


davidcarlson

in addition to all that sstteevveenn has said, you don't need to declare check...

so my opponent didn't see the check, and touched his bishop. When you touch a piece the touch-move rule says that you have to move the piece if you are able, and my opponent was able to block the check.

 but anyways, how can I improove my game? the only mistake I can see is the hanging pawn on move 10.
Did I play the opening correctly? I like to play the dragon, but is there a better way to play it?

thanks in advance

KingsCross
Ok, make up your mind, is it touch, or move? If you touch it you have to move it, or if you lift it from the board you have to move it? From your explanation, I'm under the impression that if you touch a piece, you must move it. I know for sure that once a piece leaves the board and is in the player's hand, that piece must be moved during that turn. Now, what I was asking is that if you merely touch a piece, do you have to move it? Or is it just when you lift it from the board? What happened is that since David did not declare check, the opponent moved the bishop to a square other than the square to block the check, not knowing that he was in check. That illegal move causes him to be subject to the rule of touch. But, the fact of the matter is, the player cannot make an illegal move if he is in check. Therefore, the bishop was treated as if it was still in the opponent's hand rather than declaring check prior to touching the bishop.
KingsCross
So "touch-move" is "you touch it, you move it," not, "you touch it and move it, you move it." So, you touch the piece, and you must move it. If you lift it from the board to move it (touching and moving), it is only considered a touch, not a move. Once you place the piece on the board, then it is considered a move.
Gompers
nice
sstteevveenn
yes, you've got it, you touch a piece without stating that you are adjusting it then you must move that piece if it's legal and your opponent requests it.  ie you can try to move another piece, but it's up to your opponent whether he would prefer you to move the original piece.  Actually lifting the piece makes no difference.  You can slide the piece around the board, and back to its original square if you like, for example if you suddenly dont like where you were going to put it, so long as you dont take your hand off it, but the touch-move rule still applies.  It is considered a move once you release the piece on a new square, but clearly no illegal moves are allowed. 
KingsCross
Exactly, touch-move  confines you to the piece you touch (touch being anything from touch until release, but not including release), and the other rule confines you to the move you make (the release). In this situation, a move was made (a release of the piece), yet the player is not confined to the move because it was illegal. Therefore, the touch-move rule applies, but the irreversible move rule does not. That's why I would say touch-piece, not touch-move, because you are confined to the piece, not the move. But, the term means, "you touch the piece, you move it," so that's that. So, to avoid this confusion, always declare check.