Forums

Ideas on How I Can Improve?

Sort:
PrivatePyle99

I'm fairly new to really studying chess and I've got my rating to go from the 800's to the 1200's but now I'm just stuck.  One big problem I'm still working on is blunders, but other than that, I'm looking for what I can do to improve.  If anyone would be so kind and to review this game, I would really appreciate it.  Feel free to be brutally honest.  Laughing

Thanks again very much for any advice.

transpo

If you are really serious about improving be prepared to spend alot of money.  On top of that to put in alot of long hours of hard study.  And, finally be prepared to play a minimum of 10 to 12 rated otb tournaments (that works out to 6 rounds per weekend swiss G120, G60, or G30 which works out to 60 -72 games/yr.)  In addition you will have to play alot of 5 minute games to keep your opening repertoire fresh in your mind and to keep sharp for handling the clock in time pressure when you are playing rated tournament games.

In summary you will have to get a coach with a minimum rating of 2200(that will cost 40-50/hr.) And, you will have to meet with him 2-3 times/week.  You will have to purchase chess software that will cost you several hundred $, so that you can build an opening tree and practice it for hours.  That doesn't include the long hours you will have to spend with your coach learning alot about endgames and endgame technique.  It will take you a minimum of 2-3 years to get to a rating of 2000-2100. 

Good luck on your excellent adventure.

PrivatePyle99