12666 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I've just played this game which involved a queen sacrifice in order to continue my attack, and oddly enough the only move after the final position was to capture my pawn en passant, if it wasn't for that it would have been checkmate. I'd like to know whether, if black had taken the pawn, (he didn't in the game) whether he/she would have won in the end or whether i would have had a checkmate in a few moves anyway, because i think i took quite a big risk (and i'm very bad at chess).
Brave move to sacrifice your queen, good game, well done!
holy shit...! this is so stupid...lolzzz
Completely unsound sacrifice, that worked because of the playing level of the players. While we all would like to pull off a queen sac, the bigger question i have is this.
"because i think i took quite a big risk (and i'm very bad at chess)."
Why are you playing unsound sacrifices without fully understanding them, and as you admit being bad at chess. Id put the time and energy into understanding the position, instead of getting into the bad habit of making unsound sac's.
yeah i was surprised my opponent didn't capture the pawn en passant (and a friend pointed out thqt i woul haave been in a losing position afterwards!)
what should i have done instead though on the move where the bishop was forking tthe queen and rook?
Sacrificing a queen for a bishop in order to have one check after 25 moves can hardly be described as a good idea.
Just for the record, in the final position Black is winning.
If the blacks had moved one of their rooks on the field of the white ones, wouldn't have been just simple enough to protect their black king, because here, I guess, this sacrifice was very risky as a whole. However, I think this is a victory of the whites by chance, because the player hasn't expected anything good from his opponent to defend himself. Oh god, this comment took me 20minutes to correct because of my 1000 mistakes and it's still wrong, sorry for the poor english.
Does anyone else consider themselves a reincarnation of a former chess player?
by dpnorman 11 minutes ago
The Great Knights from 1851 Chessbazaar repro
by loubalch 17 minutes ago
Look at my game: "a lo Anderssen"
by RandomBean 17 minutes ago
Chua Me O!
by NKT73 18 minutes ago
how does 2. e5 fare against the sicillian?
by RandomBean 18 minutes ago
WAO 2016 3-day Chat Room
by mkkuhner 25 minutes ago
#BCM2 - Pulpofeira vs. MSC157
by Martin0 26 minutes ago
Message icon keeps appearing when I have no messages
by wanmokewan 26 minutes ago
chess.com insufficient mating material rule
by newengland7 33 minutes ago
Smarter than a patzer?
by Joemobson 36 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!