Both of you have good points, now I see more clearly. But if we take take my statement as a rule then you should know there is exception to each rule. Remember I used if.
My statement was that a non-blundering, threatful move determines who has the initiative. My statement was work of all who contributed.
Now, tell me if that statement could be a rule, with exceptions.
But personally I don't think someone can be said to have gained any initiative if it's purely temporary and the nett result is the ultimate loss of the game.
Why not? We do that with just about everything else. Anything you measure is put over a specific period of time, so yes, it is entirely possible to gain initiative in one move and lose the game later. If I lose a rook, I took a material loss in that turn. If I used it to take a queen, I had a net gain over those two turns. If I lost the game at the end, well.... darn. The way you say it, anyone who loses the game could not have possibly gained initiative at any point during it, which doesn't make any sense at all. What if you dominated the game and then accidentally let your opponent checkmate you with something easily preventable like a backrow rook mate? Could you not have been gaining initiative all the other moves?
I think people are too busy trying to say control in this area=you winning the game while ignoring that there are numerous things going on in the game and even if you hang on to one if you screw up elsewhere it can still cost you. It all adds up eventually.