3 repeat rule / Game In Progress
Thank you mxdplay4
OK so if my opponent has made a different move and his pieces are in a different position I should be safe? So I take it that "position" refers to ALL the pieces black and white being in the same place?
This is interesting. In Keene - Donoso, Haifa 1976 Donoso announced 6....Kd6 and claimed a draw. This was dismissed because it is a different player to move. and international rules meant he was committed to the move he announced. Keene won and in so doing, became a grandmaster (I mean he got his final norm!)
I am still a chess newbie and unfamiliar with a couple of rules and procedures about games in progress.
1. I am in a position in a game and I am unsure if the move I want to make violates the 3 repeat move rule since the definition of the rule is unclear.
"A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row)"
2. This game I'm referring to is in progress and I am unsure if it is a violation to ask about this rule, I am aware that Its against the rules to ask for "help" or advise" but my question is more of a question about a rule. So I will not post the PGN unless a credible source gives me some clarification.
Any help will be appreciated...even just a more in depth detail of this 3 repeat move.
I will delete this topic if told that it is in proper...