Are you supposed to remove the piece before you take it or push it off the square as you take it?

Sort:
EndgameEnthusiast2357

Ok, that's a relief. I was imagining my opponent just throwing the queen across the room and then be like: yo got 5 seconds to get that shit.. and me being like flash zooming over the tables and diving in to bit that button...

FrancisCominelli

Wait are you supposed to grab the queen with the same hand that you push the pawn?  And is it touch move?  Like if you push your pawn to d8,  and the queen is blocked by a bunch of other pieces, do you have to say "Adjust" when moving the other pieces out of the way to grab the queen?  What if you grab a knight first by mistake? Do you have to promote to a knight then??

Yenny-Leon
FrancisCominelli wrote:

Wait are you supposed to grab the queen with the same hand that you push the pawn?  And is it touch move?  Like if you push your pawn to d8,  and the queen is blocked by a bunch of other pieces, do you have to say "Adjust" when moving the other pieces out of the way to grab the queen?  What if you grab a knight first by mistake? Do you have to promote to a knight then??

 

To promote:

1) Push the pawn to the last rank, 2) pick it up and set it aside, 3) place the promoted piece (which is off the board, so "adjust" doesn't apply)

 

During promotion, if you grab the wrong piece it doesn't matter.  Just put it down and find the piece that you intend.  What matters is what piece you place on the board.

chessspy1

"6.2.3 A player must press his clock with the same hand with which he made his move. It is forbidden for a player to keep his finger on the clock or to ‘hover’ over it."

I thought as much.

zborg

Take a blow torch to the piece in question.

Someone should do the same to this thread.

Consider reading the Rule Book, on your own time.  End of Story.  grin.png

Yenny-Leon

Do anyone really expect novices not to ask novice-level questions?  And why does a thread need to end? (unless it's OT or violates site rules).  Those not interested in a thread should simply un-follow.

EndgameEnthusiast2357
Entheon wrote:
FrancisCominelli wrote:

Wait are you supposed to grab the queen with the same hand that you push the pawn?  And is it touch move?  Like if you push your pawn to d8,  and the queen is blocked by a bunch of other pieces, do you have to say "Adjust" when moving the other pieces out of the way to grab the queen?  What if you grab a knight first by mistake? Do you have to promote to a knight then??

 

To promote:

1) Push the pawn to the last rank, 2) pick it up and set it aside, 3) place the promoted piece (which is off the board, so "adjust" doesn't apply)

 

During promotion, if you grab the wrong piece it doesn't matter.  Just put it down and find the piece that you intend.  What matters is what piece you place on the board.

If only they didn't make it so unnecessarily complicated because some loser wanted a BS excuse to make his opponent lose the game when he was in a losing position and said some BS like "oh my opponent touched the queen with the wrong hand when he tried to checkmate me, and got a quarter of a second time advantage, despite me still having an hour left on the clock, so he forfeits and I won the game". 

Richardcph
 
I came to this thread, because I had a situation in my last game in my local chess club. Sitting at the board, as white, I had this position, and was about to recapture the bishop, my opponent had taken on e4 two moves before. I had given a couple of checks with my queen, and blacks last move was putting the king on e6. I picked up the bishop, and was about to replace it with my pawn - but as I held the black bishop in my hand - I obviously, and in the very last moment realized, that I should take it with my rook on e1, and afterwards I'd win the rook on e8. So - I put down the bishop again on e4, and said "I touched the bishop, so I WILL take it, I know I must, I just have to look again..."  - "He said - yes I expected you would take it" - Then I took it with my rook, and won the game easily a few moves later.
 
My lesson learned is - that, if you can take a piece, touch it before you touch your own piece, if more than one piece can capture your opponents piece. Because then - if you see something, or come to doubt on how to capture the piece, you haven't made a commitment yet. Checking the official rules of chess on the Danish Chess Foundations pdf of the chess rules, it's not illegal to touch a piece of your opponnents before your touch your own pieces - but you DO commit yourself to capture that piece, if you can, and if you didn't say "adjust" first.
 
Ok - that was a lot of words - but in short: When capturing an opponents piece, I'll keep lifting that piece, before I grab my own piece to replace it. Just in case......
ANOK1

pick up your piece so you signify which piece is doing the taking then remove the piece you are taking , this is FIDE rules , FIDE  doesn't mention owt about swatting the taken piece in a 10 yard flightpath into a window as being against the rules , so its only your opponent whinging if you do give it a pawn swat

blueemu
ANOK1 wrote:

FIDE  doesn't mention owt about swatting the taken piece in a 10 yard flightpath into a window as being against the rules , so its only your opponent whinging if you do give it a pawn swat

There's a rule against "bringing the game into disrepute", though. That might cover everything from Pawn swats, to inserting captured pieces up your nose, to quoting dirty limericks after each move.

Richardcph
ANOK1 wrote:

"pick up your piece so you signify which piece is doing the taking then remove the piece you are taking , this is FIDE rules ..."

 

So - do both Carlsen and Caruana break the rules here, when capturing on c3?

https://youtu.be/WY7Wf-_hMdM?t=806

 

ANOK1

ok always some rule to stop the HOWZAT!!! lol

ANOK1

yeah that's weird on the c3 capture im guessing its allowed due to the fact bxc3 is not the right capture , but it could have took on c3 too , just isn't as good a move

Richardcph

Ok, check 4.3 section b):

4.2      

Provided that he first expresses his intention (for example by saying “j’adoube” or “I adjust”), only the player having the move may adjust one or more pieces on their squares.

4.3     

  Except as providedin Article 4.2, if the player having the move touches on the chessboard, with the intention of moving or capturing:

  1. one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched that can be moved
  2. one or more of his opponent’s pieces, he must capture the first piece touched that can be captured
  3. one piece of each colour, he must capture the opponent’s piece with his piece or, if this is illegal, move or capture the first piece touched that can be moved or captured. If it is unclear whether the player’s own piece or his opponent’s was touched first, the player’s own piece shall be considered to have been touched before his opponent’s.

https://www.fide.com/fide/handbook/?id=171&view=article

- so I don't see a problem with touching/lifting the piece you want to capture first - and then move your own piece to the square which is now available.

I'm still checking if FIDE has rules against bad moves - but I haven't found anything yet... (in that case, I'd been excluded from chess a while ago by the way)

HaRDHouSeiNC

I have a question on this in regards to 5 min timed games where a player would constantly capture a piece by knocking it out of the way with their piece, stop the clock and then remove the captured piece later sometimes leaving it precariously, half or or off a part of the board. 

I’m trying to see if this is a violation of rules

I’m seeing that the main rule noted. Here is all moves must be completed with one hand and that all piece adjustments must be made on their time

so would pushing a piece over but not removing it in that turn before you stop your clock be considered a violation?