Author's mistake?

the diagram is correct. i made sure i copied it straight from the book. but i still don't see how the bishop can get to g8 without gaining powers beyond the rules of chess




the diagram is correct. i made sure i copied it straight from the book. but i still don't see how the bishop can get to g8 without gaining powers beyond the rules of chess
I don't not know what "powers" you are talking about because the bishop on f6 can legally move to g8, that is of course unless I'm missing something which happens often.
One king is one f6, the other on g8, that would be a knight's move, not a bishop move. Or you confused h8 and g8,or you confused the knight and bishop?
I believe the author of my tactics book made a mistake here.
I see 1. Qg8#They say 1. Rxe8 Kxe8 2. Qxf7#
Am I missing something?