#2296
"I accept your premise that this position is not the solution to chess."
++ It goes further than that.
All proof games of all 538 positions Tromp found legal have an accuracy near 0%. That means that the vast majority of Tromp's 10^44 legal positions form no part of the solution of chess.
The real number of sensible and legal positions lies between 10^38 and 10^32.
That would be the number needed to investigate for strongly solving chess.
For weakly solving chess a far smaller number of relevant, reachable, sensible and legal positions need investigating.
And I've said before that @MARattigan makes the best posts here.
I believe that continues to be true.
But there's perhaps only one person here (not I) who as usual will then in his deluded way assert that that implies some kind of 'superiority' or 'deference'. He's obsessed with his imagery about same.
Regarding the idea that the number of moves elapsed in the 50 move rule or repetition rule - might affect strategy and therefore solution of a position ... isn't invalid.
Perhaps progress will be made if and when its established that nobody has an argument to prove to the contrary.
But there are still arguments to indicate that those considerations are sidelines.
For example: if you've got a 50 move count going - doesn't that mean that the position to kick off the 50 at the beginning of the count - is Known? Or should be?
Couldn't that mean that the main issue is to solve that position?
This connects up with the definition of solving as to whether its binary A or B or not - as in several outcomes of 'solving' instead.
I suggest the 'several outcomes' is more valid.
Meaning that solving a position means making a report on its issues.
Not just whether checkmate is available or not.
Similiar with repetition of position.
What position is being repeated ?
Could/should the computer report on every single position in chess
that "well we could have had this position before - so therefore we have to regard every position as two positions - on that."
See how ridiculous that gets ?
How about a position with only black's knight at c6 as off its original square ?
Is that legal? Sure it is !
1) Nf3 Nc6 2) Ng1. And there you are.
So now black plays Nb8. !!!
The computer must now regard the opening position as 'two positions' because there might already have been two-fold repetition ??