draw - king by itself




do you know if a 3-fold repetition of a position is always a draw or only if you have limited pieces?
and is there a counter for the 50 moves??

The 3-fold repitition must be claimed as a draw by a player. It is not limited by pieces. If both players miss it, then it isn't a draw. Usually, though, it occurs when someone wants to force a draw to avoid a loss.
Similarly, the 50-move draw must be claimed. An easy way to counter it is to move a pawn or make a capture, since the draw only occurs if no pawn is moved or piece is captured within 50 moves.



hey charlie,
I'm sorry for using the wrong term, in my native language (portuguese) the term that i learned when i first learned the game was killed.

Watch out for the knight and bishop vs opponent king mate sequence, this is where the 50 move rule really comes into play.
I was in this endgame trying to checkmate the king but I did not reach 50 moves, I am not sure how chess.com approaches this endgame.
If your oponent killed all your pieces and you have only the king left, how many moves is there for it to be considered a draw??
And is this rule followed in Chess.com??