Draw insufficient material

Sort:
charliedave

I was playing a game where my pawn was promoted to a queen, it came towards the end of the game I had this queen and my king my opponent had just their king. Their time ran out and the game was declared a draw wit insuficiant material to mate. Is this just the rules or the computer didn't recognize the pawn promotion. Any info on this would be much appreciated. Thanks

Scottrf

Impossible, your time must have ran out.

FireAndLightz

Are you sure it was not "your" time what ran out? Otherwise it had to be a win for you.

notmtwain

Was it this game?


It doesn't say but you probably ran out of time yourself and a draw was declared because your opponent only had a king versus your king and queen. No matter how well he played, he could not mate you.

Rather than worry about a few ratings points, you should read up on how to mate a king with a king and queen.

Scottrf

It does say. If white moved last, black ran out of time.

notmtwain
Scottrf wrote:

It does say. If white moved last, black ran out of time.

Good point.

charliedave

No it wasn't that game it was a while ago now. It was defiantly my opponents time that ran out I had my queen and king they just had their king.

Scottrf
charliedave wrote:

No it wasn't that game it was a while ago now. It was defiantly my opponents time that ran out I had my queen and king they just had their king.

No, that's impossible.

Maybe to you it appeared that it was your opponents move, but in reality your move wont have reached the server in time.

charliedave

Haha Yeah it was that game, thanks for the help.