Draw or Win?

Sort:
Avatar of aman_makhija

I was playing in a local tournament last month, and after finishing my game I looked up and saw a huge crowd around one of the higher boards.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here, white took the pawn on h7. The move was completed on the board, but white's clock ran out of time, before he had the chance to hit it. A huge argument arose.

 

Some players thought that black won, as the move was not completed (you need to press the clock first). The position before Kxh7 is taken as final, in which black has sufficient mating material.

Some others thought that it was a draw, because the fact that he took (or tried to take) on h7, after which the position is a draw, clearly shows his intenton of playing Kxh7. If it's clear he intended to play Kxh7, then he deserves the half-point.

The game eventually went for appeal and the arbiter came to the decision that the result was a draw. I agree with his decision, but what do you guys think?

Avatar of GMPatzer

Draw! 

Same as mate on the board you don't have to stop the clock!

Avatar of aman_makhija

All right let's make this into a survey

Draw:1

Win:0

Avatar of aman_makhija

I guess my vote counts here, so:

Draw:2

Win:0

Avatar of epicspy3

Definitely draw.

If the white king doesn't take the pawn(moves away), then the black king can take the spot on f6, and secure a draw.

Avatar of AutisticCath

AFAIK,

one does not actually have to press the clock for there to be a completed move but rather simply has to make the move on the board.

So draw.

Avatar of aman_makhija

Draw:4

Win:0

Wow, I'm surprised this was even claimed! 

Avatar of aman_makhija

Draw:5

Win:0

Avatar of CuddlyMonkey

Win. How is this even a debate? There is no grey area here. The game ended with Black possessing enough for mate. Win. Somebody almost drawing isn't cause for a debate. He almost drew. That is it. He lost. The arbiter was wrong and so is everybody who agrees with him. Win.

Avatar of CuddlyMonkey
epicspy3 wrote:

Definitely draw.

If the white king doesn't take the pawn(moves away), then the black king can take the spot on f6, and secure a draw.

Not being allowed to change your move is not the same as the move being completed. Your move isn't over until you press the clock.

Avatar of aman_makhija

Draw:5

Win:1

Avatar of aman_makhija
CuddlyMonkey wrote:
epicspy3 wrote:

Definitely draw.

If the white king doesn't take the pawn(moves away), then the black king can take the spot on f6, and secure a draw.

Not being allowed to change your move is not the same as the move being completed. Your move isn't over until you press the clock.

This is exactly the same argument made by the player who said it was a win for black

Avatar of CuddlyMonkey

Good to know. Thanks Smile.

Edit: I actually quoted epicspy instead of newengland by accident in my last post lol

Avatar of aman_makhija

Yes... the arbiter decided DRAW but the player started arguing for a win and the arbiter got angry.

Avatar of aman_makhija

Sorry, only one counts LOL

Draw:6

Win:1

Avatar of aman_makhija
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of AutisticCath

FIDE rule-book 6.7a

"

During the game each player, having made his move on the chessboard, shall stop his own clock and start his opponent’s clock. A player must always be allowed to stop hisclock. His move is not considered to have been completed until he has done so, unless the move that was made ends the game. (See the Articles 5.1.a, 5.2.a, 5.2.b, 5.2.c and 9.6)
The time between making the move on the chessboard and stopping his own clock and starting his opponent‘s clock is regarded as part of the time allotted to the player."

 

Taking the pawn effectively ended the game as it resulted in black only having the king so this rule indicates that a draw was the proper ruling in this case.

 

5.2b

"

b.

The game is drawn when a position has arisen in which neither player can checkmate the opponent’s king with any series of legal moves. The game is said to end in a ‘dead position’. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the position was legal. (See Article 9.6)"

 

 

Avatar of Ciak

This is a case of a draw, since the opponent of the player whose flag fell cannot give a check- mate by any series of legal moves.

5.2a 5.2b 5.2c applies, if a player does not complete the prescrived number of moves in the allotted time, the game is lost by that player. However, the game is drawn if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player king by any possible of legal moves.

In this case, if I well understood, the flag felt as the move was done in the board.

So in this case the draw is evident. 

Avatar of CuddlyMonkey
newengland7 wrote:

FIDE rule-book 6.7a

"

During the game each player, having made his move on the chessboard, shall stop his own clock and start his opponent’s clock. A player must always be allowed to stop hisclock. His move is not considered to have been completed until he has done so, unless the move that was made ends the game. (See the Articles 5.1.a, 5.2.a, 5.2.b, 5.2.c and 9.6)
The time between making the move on the chessboard and stopping his own clock and starting his opponent‘s clock is regarded as part of the time allotted to the player."

 

Taking the pawn effectively ended the game as it resulted in black only having the king so this rule indicates that a draw was the proper ruling in this case.

 

5.2b

"

b.

The game is drawn when a position has arisen in which neither player can checkmate the opponent’s king with any series of legal moves. The game is said to end in a ‘dead position’. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the position was legal. (See Article 9.6)"

 

 

 

You couldn't be making my case any stronger by quoting the rules. You even admit to being wrong. By using the word "effectively" you concede that the game isn't technically over after Kxh7, which of course it isn't.

Ironically, what the rules actually say is that if White didn't have a pawn on h6 then the game is drawn as soon as he plays his move and before he stops his clock, but if he has a pawn like he does here he needs to stop his clock to end his turn as per normal meaning that in this case he did indeed very much lose the game. It really couldn't be any clearer.

I don't even know why you included this rule. I see no connection at all between this and the game at hand.

So yeah, thanks for proving me to be completely correct.

Avatar of CuddlyMonkey
Ciak wrote:

This is a case of a draw, since the opponent of the player whose flag fell cannot give a check- mate by any series of legal moves...

Black can legally checkmate White. The pawn on h7 was never taken. That turn was never completed. Black wins.