Game drawn by timeout vs insufficient material (1 | 1 Rated) WHY???

Sort:
Avatar of Smile

Why was I given a draw?

My opponent had time on the clock and had another two moves left.

I was too late to make my move to Qg8. Why did my opponent not win this match?

Figured black would play the move Kh6 in response to Qg8. I would then play Qg7.

Avatar of MGleason

Timeout vs insufficient material.

He doesn't have enough material to deliver mate, so when you flag, it's a draw instead of a loss.

Avatar of Smile
MGleason wrote:

Timeout vs insufficient material.

He doesn't have enough material to deliver mate, so when you flag, it's a draw instead of a loss.

"flag"? what do you mean? I thought a draw was only given when you are not in check and no moves left? Why does this special condition exist, because they have no chance in winning other than running down their opponents clock?

Avatar of Smile

Chess federation should change this rule? What say you?

Avatar of AssaultingChicken

It’s that stupid chess rule.

Avatar of AssaultingChicken

Well done, FIDE.

Avatar of MGleason
Smile wrote:
MGleason wrote:

Timeout vs insufficient material.

He doesn't have enough material to deliver mate, so when you flag, it's a draw instead of a loss.

"flag"? what do you mean? I thought a draw was only given when you are not in check and no moves left? Why does this special condition exist, because they have no chance in winning other than running down their opponents clock?

"flag" - refers to old-style chess clocks, where a flag falls when you run out of time.

According to FIDE rules, the game is drawn if one player runs out of time but there is no possible sequence of moves that can lead to their opponent delivering checkmate.

Avatar of analist76bis
AssaultingChicken wrote:

Well done, FIDE.

here FIDE dont aply..

Avatar of analist76bis
Smile wrote:
MGleason wrote:

Timeout vs insufficient material.

He doesn't have enough material to deliver mate, so when you flag, it's a draw instead of a loss.

"flag"? what do you mean? I thought a draw was only given when you are not in check and no moves left? Why does this special condition exist, because they have no chance in winning other than running down their opponents clock?

there are a lot of rules you dont know

in real life gaming a lot can happend before your eyes and dont know the rule!

Avatar of analist76bis
analist76bis wrote:
AssaultingChicken wrote:

Well done, FIDE.

here FIDE dont aply..

FIDE rules dont aply here.

If here I have a knight and a king and opponent a peon and king..and the one with peon remains with no time.. here is DRAW. In FIDE rules the one with knight wins!

Avatar of analist76bis

in your case its a draw also for FIDE rules

Avatar of Kenji129_4

In chess.com USCF rules apply