Man. I realized that right after I resigned :(... that I should have tried clicking the draw button after putting him in check 15 times.
But now I know, thanks :)
Man. I realized that right after I resigned :(... that I should have tried clicking the draw button after putting him in check 15 times.
But now I know, thanks :)
I was pretty sure that official rules stated that if at any time in the game, the same position has been taken up three times, so that every piece is on the exact same squares on the board and its the same players move, then the game is a forced draw.
...http://www.fide.com/component/handbook/?id=124&view=article
The draw has to be claimed, otherwise the game will continue.
Articles 5.2.d and 9.2.
I was pretty sure that official rules stated that if at any time in the game, the same position has been taken up three times, so that every piece is on the exact same squares on the board and its the same players move, then the game is a forced draw.
Am I wrong about this? Or does chess.com not have this rule? Do I need to maybe press the 'draw' button after having the same position 3 times on the board? (actually, if I recall correctly, a player then has the option to request a draw from the arbiter).
Yes I know it will probably work if you obtain the same position 3 times IN A ROW. But I was had the understanding that the same position at any time during the game was supposed to constitute a draw.