Forums

How to reach 2000 ELO ?

Sort:
MyNameIsAdis

I am not ambicious to become a master in chess. My only goal is to reach 2000 rating and be good at chess, because I really love it. So guys can you give me some suggestions how to make proggres ?And what is average time in your opinion to reach that goal if I start to study chess seriously ? Thanks !

DrCheckevertim

Step 1: Stop caring about your rating.

Tatzelwurm

Whenever I read "... if I start to study chess seriously", I know that they'll never gonna make it.

Why? If they were serious, they had already started.

MyNameIsAdis
Tatzelwurm wrote:

Whenever I read "... if I start to study chess seriously", I know that they'll never gonna make it.

Why? If they were serious, they had already started.

I started studying allready :=)

ThisisChesstiny
[COMMENT DELETED]
leiph18

Some of the best players made it in about 2 years.

Most people are never rated that high.

My favorite quote from Heisman goes something like this: "Don't worry about your rating. Focus on learning, and your rating will take care of itself."

ThisisChesstiny
[COMMENT DELETED]
alekspachalov99

Yeah, I mean I wouldn't care about my rating but I absolutely need to get it over 1800 ( for junior training purposes).

alekspachalov99

I need that rating to be in top youth rating list.

The_Chess_Coach

Look at several GM games.

kleelof

Do you think Carlsen ever worried about his rating?

DrCheckevertim

As usual, it depends who you are comparing to.

Robert_New_Alekhine

There are several forum topics on this. I am sure you can research.

MSC157
WhoIsHe17 wrote:
CrimeZone wrote:

I am not ambicious to become a master in chess. My only goal is to reach 2000 rating and be good at chess, because I really love it. So guys can you give me some suggestions how to make proggres ?And what is average time in your opinion to reach that goal if I start to study chess seriously ? Thanks !