I was playing a tournament, and my opponent and I were in a time scramble. My opponent made an illegal move, and I thought that I would get two minutes on my clock, which would almost guarantee me a win as I was up 3 pawns in an endgame. However, the tournament director decided to allow my opponent to take back his move and play a new one, and I lost on time. He told me that he thought that deciding whether or not to award the penalty was at the discretion of the tournament director. Does anyone know if I should've gotten time or not? This tournament was USCF rated, by the way.
In this position, he played Ke2.
Assuming there wasn't a delay or increment of 30 seconds or more, you should have received 2 minutes on the clock. Rule 11D1 (11D is the standard penalty) https://new.uschess.org/rule-book-updates-and-changes#_11D1
I was playing a tournament, and my opponent and I were in a time scramble. My opponent made an illegal move, and I thought that I would get two minutes on my clock, which would almost guarantee me a win as I was up 3 pawns in an endgame. However, the tournament director decided to allow my opponent to take back his move and play a new one, and I lost on time. He told me that he thought that deciding whether or not to award the penalty was at the discretion of the tournament director. Does anyone know if I should've gotten time or not? This tournament was USCF rated, by the way.
In this position, he played Ke2.