Forums

Is 2150 good?

Sort:
FineSpline

Hello.  I downloaded the chess.com app two weeks ago.  After watching the lessons I wanted to see if I could be good at the game.  I started playing the computer at 500, and would progress only when beating that level.  Long story short I beat level 2150, and now I'm struggling with 2300.  I'm considering upping my game with books and coaching, but with my addictive personality I'm nervous about taking the plunge unless it shows promise.

Is beating the computer at 2150 considered good?  Or is it pretty average or below average?  Thanks for your responses!

osdeving8

If you beat a 2150 engine is pretty good. But dont forgot, human play different than engines. Sometimes playing sidelines can be more hard than best move from engine. Human try win and accept some rysky....

Now, if you are seeking for a 'good boy, continues working hard, good job', I think that is not good... Just play and know yourself, play against others guys and test in real scenary if you are good or no... In chess a strong character is necessary too...

BlargDragon

2150 is pretty good--somewhere between barefoot in warm grass good and pizza margherita good.

DanOlvido
FineSpline wrote:

Hello.  I downloaded the chess.com app two weeks ago.  After watching the lessons I wanted to see if I could be good at the game.  I started playing the computer at 500, and would progress only when beating that level.  Long story short I beat level 2150, and now I'm struggling with 2300.  I'm considering upping my game with books and coaching, but with my addictive personality I'm nervous about taking the plunge unless it shows promise.

Is beating the computer at 2150 considered good?  Or is it pretty average or below average?  Thanks for your responses!

There is just one way to know: play some live games with humans.

osdeving8
BlargDragon escreveu:

2150 is pretty good--somewhere between barefoot in warm grass good and pizza margherita good.