King moves into check

Sort:
Avatar of mannsrobert

[COMMENT DELETED]

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
mannsrobert wrote:

wK@c3, wkt@e3 (pinned), bR@g3, wR@d1, bK@e2

can bK take wR?

The king can never move into check and a piece that may be pinned to its own king can still deliver check so the opponent's king can not move into any squares that pinned piece attacks (or could move to if it wasn't pinned).

Avatar of MikeCrockett

no. think of it this way. if moving into check was legal then your opponent could do the same. bK would take then Nxd1 and the bK would be captured first losing the game. Just curious who taught you the game? Moving into check is not allowed.

Avatar of fenix500
mannsrobert wrote:

wK@c3, wkt@e3 (pinned), bR@g3, wR@d1, bK@e2

can bK take wR?

Just curius, what kind of notation is that? Looks cool.

Avatar of MikeCrockett

Some scholastic coaches have been known to teach their kids that it is okay to capture the king to end the games quickly. In otb blitz that is also a commonly accepted way to end a game on illegal moves. I don't like it though, for the very reason that it causes the rule to be poorly understood. confusion. Its one thing to be self taught and misunderstand the rule. Its another thing to be taught incorrectly by someone who should have known better. In that case it is the teachers fault, not the student.

Avatar of mannsrobert

Thanks, all. I "knew so" but i couldn't convince my opponent that there was a reason other than "it's the rule."